Anderson, Gregg, Dover Young Guns on Fire

By Kesi Asher

Tuesday, August 13, 2013    

Print this page Email A Friend!

ANDRE Anderson and Kyle Gregg dominated the Dover Independence of Speed Race Meet last Sunday, as each set new records and topped his driving classes with phenomenal performances, in what could signal the changing of the guard.

The drivers were a force to be reckoned with as they controlled the 1.6-mile Dover circuit, guarding their first-place finishes with every press of the pedal. Kyle Gregg, past meet and Dover champion, set a new record for the fastest FWD at 1:22:941. Andre Anderson, meet champion for the last two Dover events held in April and May this year, set a new fastest Modified Production (MP) 3 qualifying record of 1:22:367, and is so far leading the 2013 points standing.

Despite the lull at the start of the event, Anderson brought life to the crowd that gathered, as his Total sponsored Mitsubishi Mivec powered through the Improved Production (IP) 27 race one. The crowd was amazed with Anderson's tactical driving, as he battled both Mitsubishi Evolution cars driven by George Bailey and Charles Chen for the checkered flag.

When the dust settled, Anderson was victorious in both IP 27 races, with Charles Chen placing second and Jaleel Handal third. "It was a good meet and I am happy with my performance. During the battle with Charles Chen we went in the chicane side by side and had very little room to stay on the track, so I took to the grass to avoid hitting him. The bottom radiator hose got damaged and the coolant drained causing the car to overheat, resulting in a blown head gasket," explained Anderson.

The Anderson's Auto Parts-sponsored Mivec was repaired, after its tussle in the chicane, and Andre went on to grab the checkered flag in both MP3 races, with Noel Golding Jr driving the yellow Honda Civic race car placing second in race one.

Samantha Summerbell was very impressive, placing second in race two and Troy Riley secured the third- place finish in both races.

Kyle Gregg, who amassed maximum points on race day by winning all his races, had a commanding lead over his competitors. Gregg breezed through the track with consummate ease and put on a spectacular performance in both MP2 races. The axle on his Total-sponsored Honda Civic broke on the last lap of the TS1 race, but like a true champion Kyle persevered through to the end to take the checkered flag.

Alan Chen pulled out of the first MP2 race after experiencing mechanical problems with his Toyota Starlet, but was back on the track for race two and placed second ahead of Sebastian Rae. Rae, in his Mitsubishi Mivec, placed second in race one, with Peter Jaggon finishing third. "The axle broke on the last lap of the TS1 race, but I still finished first in the class. Alan had his difficulties, but we were on top of our game, so we knew we had a very good chance to dominate the day," said Kyle Gregg.

The very experienced David Summerbell Jr took home wins in both MP4 races, ahead of George Bailey in second and Charles Chen, who placed third in both race one and two, all driving Mitsubishi Evolution race cars.

Charles Chen had a remarkable day and he was very competitive in all his races, securing the checkered flag in the very demanding TS2 race.

Being the crowd pleaser that he is, Summerbell started from the back of the TS1/TS2 race to finish third behind Neil Golding Jr, who placed second. Tarik Minott, in his Suziki Ignis, won both MP1 races with Natasha Chang in her Honda Civic placing second in race two. Rhon Gayle, driving a VW Rabbit, placed third in race three and second in race two.

Races one and two of the Bracket 45 Naturally Aspirated class were won by Maxroy Allen in his Honda CRX. Walton Small placed second and Dwain Boothe came in third in both races. The Bracket 45 Forced Induction race one was very exciting with Kirby Smallhorne, Ocran Davis and Hewan Ennis battling to the very end. Smallhorne, driving a Toyota Starlet, was victorious, Ocran Davis placed second and although Hewan Ennis placed third in race one, he won race two and was named the top racer in his class for the meet.

Lincoy Small was the top racer in the Bracket 38 class for this meet, with victories in both race one and two. Keith Mills was second in race one, while Andrew Delapenha was second in race two. Everett Brady placed third in race one and Patrick Ricketts came in third in race two. Bracket 32 race one was won by Vivian Mitchell, ahead of Team Brown's Town's Troy Riley and Sebastian Rae, who placed second and third, respectively. Paul Chok won race two, Dean Corrodus placed second and Samantha Summerbell was third.

Newcomer Kyle Reynolds dominated the Motorcycle B class with wins in all three races ahead of Norman Chung, who placed second. In Motorcycle A action, Robert McDonald won races one and two and placed second in race two. Adrian Blake rode home with the checkered flag in race three, with third and second place finishes in races two and three, respectively. Dennis Chin-Que placed second in race one, and third in races two and three.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you support the Gov’t giving US$200,000 towards staging the Racers Grand Prix 2017? 

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon