New chairman for JMMC body

Rory Daley

Friday, September 28, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

PETER Clarke was elected chairman of the Jamaica Millennium Motoring Club (JMMC) at its Annual General Meeting held at the Liguanea Club in New Kingston, St Andrew, two Saturdays ago.

Clarke takes over the reins from Dean Corrodus and will serve until 2014. The JMMC is the local representative of the world motorsports body, the Federation d'International.

"I will continue the mandate set by the previous administration," Clarke said in his acceptance speech. He has held various positions in the club.

"I'm very pleased with the incoming president," outgoing chairman Corrodus told Auto. "He brings experience to the chairmanship and the fact that he will continue the programmes developed by the past JMMC executive says a lot."

Also elected were Errol Anderson as vice-chairman; while Robert Thelwell accepted his new role as treasurer. Marcia Dawes retained the position as JMMC executive secretary. The JMMC board of directors comprise Lawrence Henriques, Stephen Gunter, Wayne Piper, Ibraheem Khan, Michael Fennell Jr, Marc Evans, and Christopher McFarlane.

For his past and continued contribution to the motorsport, Hilary Jardine was made an honorary member.



Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon