No CMRC for Gore

By Rory Daley Observer writer

Friday, August 08, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

AFTER last weekend's Jamaica Automobile Association/Total Lubricants Emancipation of Speed at Dover Raceway in St Ann, Doug Gore has thrown his defence of his 2013 Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) title in doubt.

"I've opted out of the Trinidad round as my sponsors are so happy that I'm back that they don't want me to miss another race in Jamaica for the rest of the year," Gore told Auto.

Their request came on the heels of a clean sweep of all three of the Thundersport (TS) Class two races by the Audi TT-R DTM.

"I might make Guyana, but I'm not sure yet," he said.

With a less than perfect performance in the Barbados CMRC opener and missing Trinidad, Gore would only have two rounds with a poor mathematical shot at the retaining the CMRC driver's championship title. Gore also cites cost as another reason for his lack of interest in the CMRC.

"There's no way to that I can go to race in all the countries. Can't afford it," Gore explained.

As for the Jamaica Automobile Association/Total Lubricants Emancipation of Speed meet itself even the promise of a Gore/Summerbell Jr showdown couldn't pry the crowds away from their Emancipation Weekend activities into the Dover gates.

Gore's wins didn't come problem-free as the Saturday qualifying sessions, which saw the car back on its native circuit generated less than positive results.

"I have to big up David Bell, my crew chief, and team as they made all the right calls," Gore explained.

From a raging first corner fire that caused a delay, to every driver operating in maximum aggression mode, it was one of the most incident packed meets in years.

Summerbell Jr may have lost the war, but he clearly won the battle. In the final TS2 race, he dropped a 1:18.897 second lap-time showing there was still more than life in his Lancer Evolution. He also swept all three Modified Production (MP) Class four races and had several formation finishes with his Total Summerbell Racing (TSR) teammates, Kyle Gregg and Andre Anderson Jr. Gregg ruled all three MP2 races while grabbing the final TS1 race from Vivian Mitchell, who won the first two as well as two Bracket 29 races. Anderson swept the MP3 podium.

Kishore Williams, Dean Shaw and Samantha Summerbell took one MP1 race win apiece. Improved Production victories went two to one in favour of Peter Jaggon over Dayne Chok. Kevin Chok would take one B29 win from Mitchell. B35 wins were split across Kirk Diaz, Andy Williams and Andrew Delapenha. Fraser McConnell won B39 race one, with the other two going to Robin Sutherland. Andre A. Anderson and Kevin Archer had one B45N victory each as Hewan Ennis took both B45T races.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon