LASCO, MoEYI honour 12 more principals, teachers for 2019-20 awards

Career & Education

LASCO, MoEYI honour 12 more principals, teachers for 2019-20 awards

Sunday, December 01, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

LASCO and the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information (MoEYI) have announced the 12 educators who will vie for the coveted titles of Principal and Teacher of the Year 2019-2020.

Those in the Teacher of the Year category are Marsha Russell, Porus High School; Stacy Richards, Aabuthnott Gallimore High School; Charrone Grant, Farm Primary and Junior High School; Rohan Walcott, DeCarteret College; Bhagya Malladi, Immaculate Conception High School; and Howard Brown, Cedar Grove Academy.

The finalists for Principal of the Year are: Nadeen Fisher, Retirement Primary and Infant School; Dameian Elvin, Hague Primary and Infant School; Michelle White-Guy, Steer Town Primary & Junior High School; Aretha Willie, George Headley Primary School; Andria Dehaney-Dinham, Maryland Primary School; and Lynton Weir, Old Harbour High School.

The finalists, the organisers said, collectively embody the dedication, devotion and determination of the men and women who have helped to shape our nation's future.

All finalists will receive plaques, gift certificates and gift baskets courtesy of LASCO. This year's top principal and teacher will receive champion trophies, cash prizes valued at $250,000 each and the opportunity to attend the 2020 Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) Conference to be held in Los Angeles come March 2020.

The first runners-up will receive trophies and $150,000 each in addition to accompanying the Teacher and Principal of the Year to the 2020 ASCD Conference. The second runners-up will receive trophies and $100,000 each.

As an addition to the award scheme this year, the MOEYI through its Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) 'Teacher of the Year Program' will also pay homage to the teachers who have excelled at the key tenets of the TVET programme.

“The initiative feels fresh and new each year, as we highlight the amazing and innovative achievements of our awardees. Their actions make teaching the greatest act of hope for our nation, in and out of the classroom,” said founder and executive chairman of LASCO Affiliated Companies Lascelles Chin.

The Principal, Teacher of the Year awards is scheduled for tomorrow, Monday, December 2.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon