Career & Education

LASCO, MoEYI name 13 finalists for 2017-2018

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

The 20th iteration of the Principal and Teacher of the Year competition co-sponsored by LASCO and the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information (MoEYI), has announced the 13 finalists for this year.

The 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year finalists are: Alecia Coward-Salmon, Spanish Town Primary; Tracy-Ann Hall, Jonathan Grant High; Jody-Ann Fagan Taylor, Porus High; Ingrid Peart-Wilmot, Bishop Gibson High; Charlotte Barclay, York Castle High; Heavon Brown, Port Antonio High; and Romain Simmonds, Westwood High.

The Principal of the Year finalists are: Susan Simms, Glendevon Primary and Junior High; Carlyle Thompson, South Borough Primary; Trevor Cole, St Ann's Bay Primary; Dosset Edwards-Watson, Trench Town Polytechnic College; Howard Salmon, Mandeville Primary and Junior High; and Deanroy Bromfield, Excelsior High.

They were selected from a shortlist of 28 teachers and nine principals.

LASCO and the MoEYI said they were impressed by the high levels of performance in classroom innovation, learning results and community involvement shown by the nominees.

According to Peter Mark Chin, deputy executive chairman, LASCO Affiliated Companies and managing director of LASCO Distributors, honouring teachers and principals is at the core of LASCO's vision of “caring for our fellow man”.

“Collectively, the LASCO corporate programmes contribute over $18 million annually, including funding the many community-level enhancement projects that awardees embark on during and after their reign. This significant investment underscores LASCO's commitment to Vision 2030 — to make Jamaica the place of choice to live, work, do business, and raise families,” said Chin.

The 2017/18 awards ceremony is slated for Monday, December 4, 2017 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

The Teacher and Principal of the Year will each receive the champion trophy, $250,000 and an all-expenses paid trip to the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) conference in Boston, Massachusetts. The first runner-up will receive a trophy, $150,000, and accompany the winners to the ASCD conference in Massachusetts, while the third finisher will walk away with a trophy and $100,000. All finalists will take home plaques, LASCO gift baskets, and gift certificates.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon