Catch Di Riddim - VoiceMail drops mix tape

BY KEVIN JACKSON Observer Writer

Friday, April 20, 2012

Print this page Email A Friend!

Ahead of the summer release for their album Next Level, vocal duo Voice Mail has dropped its mix tape, the Journey Continues.

According to group member Kevin Blair, the tape has been released to keep Voice Mail fans entertained as they await the new album.

"There are going to be about 16 tracks on this mix tape and people are going to enjoy it. It was mixed by Kurt Riley and hosted by fans of Voice Mail," he said.

Next Level is the follow-up to Jump Off which did reasonably well in Japan.

Voice Mail recently released the video for the track Wrong Number which features singer Alaine.

The video was directed by Dejo Films in Germany.

On the live side of things, the group recently performed in St Kitts and Nevis and the Bahamas.

Look out for Antonio

Maurice Silvera, who goes by the stage name Antonio, is hoping to make his mark as a singer/songwriter.

Originally from Portland, he began pursuing music at age 12. He would later perform on sound systems including Missile, Prince Ajax and Mafia Five.

Later, he hooked up with the Black Lion camp and worked with recording artiste Shocking Murray.

From that collaboration came the song Woman a You Mi Want which had some momentum in Austria.

A stint in Austria took him to neighbouring Germany where he recorded his debut album which was produced by Sun Vibes.

He later signed a deal with british company Jet Star Records which released his sophomore album, So Many Wings.

Antonio is currently working with Top Elements Records for the release of his third album, So Amazing.

Nando goes dancehall/soca

With the release of his debut album Yaad and Abroad just weeks away, singer Nando Griffiths is preparing to release the video for his latest song, Ride All Night.

The dancehall/soca track is a collaboration with deejays Oxxygen and Paashot.

Nando describes the song as island pop. He says he drew from different genres to stir interest among a wider fan base.

Since its release, Ride All Night has done just that, getting steady rotation on radio.

Nando has another song on the market, My Everything. His album is set for a June release.

Ms Triniti on top

If I Was Your Girl by singer Ms Triniti has sailed to the top of HYPE TV's VTX Countdown.

Produced by Qmillion, It is Ms Triniti's second chart-topper in Jamaica, the other being Burning Burning featuring Beenie Man.

She is scheduled to release her fifth studio album, ragga lovers, in Japan on the Nippon Crown Records label on May 31.

Another album from Ms Triniti titled Electric Island Party, will be released by Extreme Music this year.


Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon