Lady Saw comes up big at 'Linkage'

Tuesday, March 19, 2013    

Print this page Email A Friend!

DURABLE deejay Lady Saw was the toast of the 2013 Linkage Awards which took place Saturday at the Thornton High School in Mount Vernon, New York.

Saw, whose given name is Marion Hall, won Female Artiste of the Year and Outstanding Female Artiste. She was also inducted into the Linkage Hall of Fame and received a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bunny Wailer was also inducted into the Hall of Fame, earned a Lifetime Achievement Award and was made Reggae Ambassador of the Year.

Singers John Holt and Cocoa Tea, and deejay Lady G completed the 2013 Hall of Fame inductees. Holt, Cocoa Tea, and Lady G as well as singers Jimmy Riley, Luciano and Spanner Banner also received Lifetime Achievement Award.

Konshens won three awards: Entertainer Of The Year, Male Deejay Of The Year and Most Consistent Recording Artiste Of The Year.

Mr Vegas' Bruck It Down was selected Song Of The Year, with Kiprich adjudged Male Deejay Of The Year. Christopher Martin won for Singer Of The Year while Khago was named Most Improved Artiste Of The Year.

The other 2013 Linkage Awards winners were:

Breakthrough Reggae Artiste of the Year Nature

Breakthrough Gospel Artiste of the Year Kukudoo

Most Consistent Performer of the Year Romain Virgo

Singjay Of The Year I-Octane

Male Culture Artiste Of The Year Hezron

Female Culture Artiste Of The Year Etana

Promoter Of The Year Isaiah Laing (Sting)

Selector Of The Year Platinum Kid

NY Radio Personality Of The Year Ragashanti (93.5 FM)

Jamaica Radio Personality Of The Year Barry G (Mello Radio)

TV Personality of the Year Suzie Q

Street Promoter of the Year Stampede

Outstanding Achievement in Music Duane Stephenson

Outstanding Achievement in Music Tony Rebel

Outstanding Achievement in Music Luciano

Outstanding Achievement in Music Gramps Morgan

Outstanding Achievement in Music Ninja Man

Outstanding Achievement in Radio Ras Clem

Most Consistent Personality on Linkage Radio Lady D

DJ of the Year Linkage Radio Gassie

DJ of the Year Touch FM Radio Showa Gela

DJ of the Year Road Block Radio Naturalist

DJ of the Year Parti FM Radio Short Mike

DJ of the Year Busy Radio Sheldon Money

DJ of the Year Royal Radio Supa Barry




Do you believe Dr Peter Phillips will be a better People's National Party (PNP) president than Portia Simpson Miller?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon