Bounty, Capleton earn IRAWMA honours

Bounty, Capleton earn IRAWMA honours

Monday, May 06, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

Two of dancehall's finest, Bounty Killer and Capleton, are set to receive major awards at the International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) set for the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in St Andrew on Saturday. Bounty Killer will receive the Reggae Dancehall Icon Award, while Capleton will receive the Reggae Culture Legend Award.

These two will join Top One Frissen from Africa, Bob Andy, Inner Circle, and Third World as some of the major honorees

“It is not just to honour the best of 2018,” stated founder and president of IRAWMA, Ephraim Martin, “but to salute and honour some of reggae's foundation members, who are still making a difference in the world of reggae from 1968 to present. This year we had an overwhelming amount of votes, 50 per cent coming out of Africa, which is a testimony to not only the need for artistes to be recognised for their work, but is evidence of the amount of excellent reggae and world music makers in Jamaica and around the globe.”

This year's staging of IRAWMA was originally heading to Trinidad. However, Martin and his team were encouraged by Entertainment and Culture Minister Olivia “Babsy” Grange to bring it to Jamaica, given the observance of reggae music's 50th anniversary.

This year a number of honour awards will be made to individuals in the music fraternity, including foundation acts and the musicians who are still making a difference in the world of reggae music.

Bob Marley will receive the Special Emperor of Reggae and World Music Honour Award, which was created specifically for the late reggae singer; American civil rights activist Jesse Jackson snagged the Special Freedom Fighter award, while Grange will receive the Martin's International Person of The Year 2018 award.

Nominees for Bob Marley Entertainer of the Year include Busy Signal, Chronixx, Damian Marley, Popcaan, and Shaggy. Chronixx, Romain Virgo, Tarrus Riley, Protoje, and Beres Hammond are nominees for Best Male Vocalist.

In the category of Best Female Vocalist, Etana, Estelle, Jah9, Koffee, and Queen Ifrica are nominated.

Established in 1982, IRAWMA acknowledges the accomplishments and contributions of reggae and world music artistes, songwriters, performers, and promoters. It was first held in Montego bay Jamaica in 1991. It returned in 2001 and 2002, also in Montego Bay. Past winners include Chronixx, Etana, Tarrus Riley, Third World and Inner Circle.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon