Latest News

25 youngsters, two groups get PM Youth Award for Excellence

Tuesday, April 08, 2014 | 7:50 AM    

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTON, Jamaica (JIS) -- Twenty-three outstanding young Jamaicans and two youth groups are the 2013 recipients of the Prime Minister’s Youth Awards for Excellence.

The two youth groups are the Youth Organisation for Upliftment and the National Interschool Brigade.

The award ceremony was held on the east lawns of Jamaica House, Kingston, on April 6, under the theme: ‘Celebrating Jamaican Youth…the Courage of Perseverance’.

Prime Minister, Portia Simpson Miller, who was joined on stage by the Minister of Youth and Culture, Lisa Hanna, presented the awards.

In her address to the large gathering, the Prime Minister said that she was inspired by the successes and achievements of the young awardees and nominees.

“This evening, I celebrate your triumph and successes, and remind you of your awesome possibilities and potential,” she said.

Simpson Miller noted that poverty, age, or health factors are not obstacles to the achievements of the nominees and awardees.

“Those of you who have demonstrated that growing up materially poor does not mean that you are poor in ambition or courage, are living examples, and I commend you,” she said.

Citing the goals of the National Development Plan -- Vision 2030 Jamaica -- the Prime Minister said the nominees “serve as fitting examples of what we hope will be common place among our young people by 2030.”

“In our awardees, we find some of the finest examples of what all our young people can become when they apply themselves with courage, discipline and dedication to the achievement of their God given potential,” said Simpson Miller.

Meanwhile, Hanna said that the 41 nominees only represented a “tiny fraction” of the large number of successful young people in Jamaica.

“You are all symbols of hope and shining examples of what is possible when ambition meets determination. As your Minister, I am proud to celebrate your achievement,” she said.

Among the awardees was 18 year-old Javon Francis, who won a silver medal in the 4 x 400 relay at the 2013 World Championships in Russia, where he ran an anchor leg of 44.00 seconds.

Other recipients of the award who excelled in sports and other fields were: Martin Manley, Yvonne Foster, Yanique Thompson,Thristina Harwood, Everett Moseley, Nicholas Wright, Shoyea Gaye Grant, Abigail Allen, Kadeem Wilson, Christena Williams, Theo Smith, Kyisha “Kai” Newman, Farley Artwell, Gavin Samuels, John Powell, Tijani Christian, Amorkard Brown, Terral Christian, Kadesha Croney, Lamar Rowe, Seidg Rowe, and Jamilia Crooks.

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you believe Dr Peter Phillips will be a better People's National Party (PNP) president than Portia Simpson Miller?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon