Bolt, McLeod, Thompson head Sportsman, Sportswoman of the Year nominees

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Olympic 110m hurdles champion Omar McLeod and Diamond League champion Elaine Thompson headline the 10 nominees for 2017 National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Award.

McLeod is one of seven men nominated, along with many time winner and now retired Usain Bolt, Chris Binnie (squash), Andre Blake (Football), Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller and Chadrick Walton (Cricket).

Only three women were nominated in Thompson, swimming sensation and former winner Alia Atkinson along with Ristananna Tracey who won bronze in the 400m hurdles at the London World Championship.




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon