Earl Jarrett appointed ECJ chairman

Earl Jarrett appointed ECJ chairman

Tuesday, June 02, 2020

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTON, Jamaica—Earl Jarrett has been appointed Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ)

Jarrett, whose appointment took effect March 1, was elected from among the four selected commissioners.

He was appointed to the ECJ as a selected commissioner in 2013 under the chairmanship of Dorothy Pine-McLarty, who retired on December 31, 2019 and was replaced by retired Chief Justice Zaila McCalla.

The ECJ comprises nine members including four selected commissioners, four nominated commissioners (two nominated on the advice of the prime minister and two on the advice of the leader of the opposition) and the director of elections.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon