Holness' new Cabinet sworn in

Latest News

Holness' new Cabinet sworn in

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Fourteen ministers of government and the attorney general were sworn into office today during a ceremony at King’s House.

Those taking the oath of allegiance and the oath of office were Minister of Local Government and Rural Development Desmond McKenzie; Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport Olivia Grange; Minister of Tourism Edmund Bartlett; Minister of Transport and Mining Robert Montague; Minister of Education, Youth and Information Fayval Williams; Minister of Justice Delroy Chuck; Minister of Energy, Science and Technology, Daryl Vaz; Minister of Labour and Social Security Karl Samuda; Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries Floyd Green; Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce Audley Shaw; Minister of Housing, Urban Renewal, Environment and Climate Change Pearnel Charles Jr; Minister without Portfolio in the Ministry of National Security, Senator Matthew Samuda; Minister without Portfolio in the Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation Everald Warmington; and Minister without Portfolio in the Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation Senator Aubyn Hill.

Marlene Malahoo Forte was reappointed as attorney general.

Aubyn Hill and Matthew Samuda were also sworn in as members of the Senate.

Governor General Sir Patrick Allen, who presided over the ceremony, charged the ministers and attorney general, who have been appointed following the Jamaica Labour’s Party (JLP) victory at the September 3 polls, to provide the best leadership to Jamaica.

This, he said, should include “habits and practices of loyalty, empathy, accountability, duty and determination, energy and encouragement, respect, selflessness, honour, humility, integrity, innovation, and passion for and pride in your work.”

The governor general noted that Jamaicans are looking to their leaders for clear signals, actions, and direction that will encourage economic, social and political stability.

He told the new appointees that they form the core of the new administration and will contribute to the realisation of the policy and programme objectives of the Government.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Andrew Holness charged the ministers to carry out their duties with integrity, noting that they have a responsibility to “stay in line with the expectations of the people”.

“We are at a turning point, a tipping point, something new and good and powerful can happen in our country. By our actions, if we decide as ministers to exercise the power and authority vested by these instruments with the highest level of integrity, dignity and efficiency, something good can happen in our nation”, he said.

Four ministers of Government were sworn into office on September 7 by the governor general.

They are Minister of National Security and Deputy Prime Minister Dr Horace Chang; Minister of Finance and the Public Service Dr Nigel Clarke; Minister of Health and Wellness, Dr Christopher Tufton; and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Kamina Johnson Smith.

The Ministers of State are expected to be sworn in tomorrow.



Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaper-login




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon