India win toss, opt to bowl in first West Indies T20

India win toss, opt to bowl in first West Indies T20

Friday, December 06, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

HYDERABAD, India (AFP) — India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first in the opening Twenty20 international against West Indies in Hyderabad on Friday.

Paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar returns to the XI after being added to the T20 squad for the three-match series.

"There's going to be dew later on for sure and it's a beautiful wicket to bat on," Kohli said at the toss.

"Will probably get easier to bat with the ball getting wet (in the second innings). Chasing is our strength."

Reigning T20 World Cup champions West Indies, led by Kieron Pollard, will be looking to bounce back from their 1-2 loss to Afghanistan last month.

"The toss is 50-50, so we can't really control it. You just have to bat and bat well," Pollard said.

"The outside noise is not going to help us, we have to know what we have to do and that's exactly what our focus is on. Everything is geared towards playing a complete game and coming out on top."


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (capt), Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Jason Holder, Khary Pierre, Kesrick Williams, Sheldon Cottrell, Hayden Walsh Jr

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and CK Nandan (IND)

TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon