Organisers settle on stable window for CPL tournament

Saturday, January 12, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) — Caribbean Premier League (CPL) organisers and Cricket West Indies have settled on a stable window for the popular Twenty20 championship, which will see it continue to be played in August and September for the next five years.

Principals of both organisations confirmed that the window for the tournament will run from August 21 to September 27.

For the last two years, the CPL has been played during the same months and chief operating officer, Pete Russell, said the new development would ensure fans now associated the time period with the tournament.

“We are very pleased to be playing our tournament in August and September for the third successive year and we have now agreed that this will be the time of year that CPL takes place for the next five seasons,” Russell said.

“Fans now associate this time of year with Hero CPL and we have already started work on bringing the party to life in 2019. Having the best Caribbean cricketers and the world's best overseas is what our tournament is all about, and this window gives us that.”

The tournament ran from August 8 to September 16 last year, mirroring the August 4 to September 9 dates in 2017.

However, the 2016 and 2015 tournaments bowled off in June while the 2014 edition and the inaugural competition got going in July.

The difficulty for organisers was finding an international window where the best players would be available and CWI chief executive, Johnny Grave, said he was pleased this had been achieved.

“The Hero CPL has developed into one of the best and most exciting T20 competitions in the world and we look forward to hosting another successful tournament later this year,” he said.

“We are pleased that we have been able to find a window in our WINDIES International calendar to ensure that all the best Caribbean cricketers can take part, as the tournament plays a crucial role in our preparations and planning for the T20 World Cup in 2020.”

This year's opening round of matches will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, with the playoffs also being staged in both nations.

Trinbago Knight Riders, based in Port of Spain, are two-time reigning champions.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon