OAS welcomes new Guyana government

Latest News

OAS welcomes new Guyana government

Monday, August 03, 2020

Print this page Email A Friend!

WASHINGTON, United States (CMC) — The Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), Luis Almagro, has congratulated Guyana's new President, Dr Mohamed Irfaan Ali, who was sworn into office on Sunday, ending months of legal and political controversy surrounding the disputed March 2 regional and general election.

“The OAS has closely monitored the situation in Guyana since the polls closed on the night of March 2, 2020. We are happy that the multiple calls by the General Secretariat, national stakeholders and bilateral and multilateral partners, for the genuine results of the elections to be respected, were heard by GECOM (Guyana Elections Commission).

“The OAS congratulates the people of Guyana for their patience. We also congratulate the GECOM Chair, retired justice Claudette Singh, for remaining true to her convictions and standing firm against the many efforts to undermine the will of the people,” Almargo said.

He stated that democracy in Guyana had been put to the test in the process, adding “although it ultimately prevailed, it is clear there are weaknesses in Guyana's electoral system that must be addressed.”

Almagro said that in the coming months, the Washington-based hemispheric body will issue its final report on the 2020 Guyana electoral process, “with recommendations that can assist in addressing these weaknesses and avoiding a similar situation in the future".

On Sunday, Ali was sworn in as the ninth president of Guyana, promising a government that is accessible and transparent, and urging Guyanese to put aside their differences for the betterment of the country.

Ali, 40, took the oath of office at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre before acting Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Yonette Cummings Edwards, less than three hours after GECOM declared him the winner of the disputed March 2 regional and general elections.

GECOM also declared that the main opposition People's Progressive Party /Civic (PPP/C) had won the most seats — 32 in the 65-member Parliament, with the outgoing coalition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) receiving 31 seats and the other political parties, one seat, under Guyana's proportional representation electoral system.


Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaper-login




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper ´┐Ż email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon