Full Site

Monday, April 24, 2017

Home | News | Sport | Entertainment | Business | Cartoon | Other Sections


Riley happy with CARIFTA team

Thursday, March 21, 2013


MONTEGO BAY, St James — David Riley, head coach of the Jamaican team that was named yesterday to take part in next weekend's 41st staging of the CARIFTA Championships in The Bahamas, says he is happy with the 70-member squad he has been handed.

The Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) released the squad yesterday, more than a week after it was selected following the two-day Trials held at the National Stadium earlier this month.

The group, which includes several defending champions from last year's team that won 78 medals to top the championships for the 28th straight year will leave the island next Thursday for the event that will be held March 30-April 1 at the newly-constructed Thomas Robinson stadium.

Jazeel Murphy, who will seek a third straight Boys' Under-20 100m title, has been named in the squad along with Michael O'Hara, Odail Todd, long/triple jumper Clive Pullen, as well as World Youth and World Junior discus champion Fedrick Dacres.

Article continues below...

Defending 800m/1,500m girls' Under-20 champion Simoya Campbell, Heptathlon champion Gleneve Grange and triple jump champion Sabina Allen will head the girls' list.

Under-17 Girls — Natalliah Whyte, Tiffany James, Shellece Clarke, Shannon Kalawan, Asshanni Robb, Derica Pitters, Rushelle Burton, Janeek Brown, Patrice Moody, Safiyah Thompson, Shiann Salmon, Britny Kerr, Janell Fullerton, Shanice Love, Jessica Nobel, Britnie Dixon.

Under-20 girls — Monique Spencer, Yanique Thompson, Shericka Jackson, Kedisha Dallas, Yanique Mcneil, Chris-Ann Gordon, Simoya Campbell, Titania Markland, Lisa Buchanan, Shanieke Watson, Megan Simmonds, Kimone Green, Tatiana Wolfe, Claudette Allen, Tamara Moncriefe, Shardia Lawrence, Rochelle Frazer, Gleneve Grange.

Under-17 boys — Raheem Chambers, Jelani Walker, Manley Martin, Jaheel Hyde, Canigga Harriott, Rayon Butler, Shevon Parks, Jauavney James, Roje Jackson?Chin, Orlando Smith, Obrien Waysome, Ajani James, Jordan Scott, Warren Barrett, Vashon Mccarthy, Sanjae Lawrence.

Under-20 boys — Jazeel Murphy, Odail Todd, Michael O'hara, Jovan Francis, Lennox Williams, Herbert Thomas, Chadoye Dawson, Laran Haye, Tyler Mason, Omar McLeod, Okeen Williams, Demar Robinson, Christoffe Bryan, Xavier Boland, Clive Pullen, Julaine Walker, Fredrick Dacres, Chadrick Dacosta, Adrian Riley, Jevaughn Minzie.

Leave your comments below...

SHARE THIS: Share to Facebook Share to Twitter

More news


Home | Lifestyle | Teenage | Regional | Environment | Editorial | Columns | Career | Food | All Woman | Letters | Auto | Video | Weather | Contact Us

Mobile | View Standard Version

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy

Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
twitter Follow us on Twitter!

Copyright © 2012 Jamaica Observer. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.