School renamed in honour of John Rollins

BY PAT ROXBOROUGH-WRIGHT Editor-at-Large Western Bureau

Sunday, March 18, 2007    

Print this page Email A Friend!

ROSEHALL, St James - The Success Primary School, one of two state-of-the-art educational centres officially opened in St James on Friday, has been renamed the John Rollins Success Primary School in honour of the deceased philanthropist and businessman whose Rose Hall Developments Limited plays a pivotal role in the country's tourism industry.

"Like Spot Valley (High School) Success Primary is located in the heart of our tourism activities," said junior education minister Noel Monteith. "We recognise the important role that this stakeholder group plays in the development of this and other surrounding institutions. It is with this in mind that the Most Honourable Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, acting on the recommendation of the minister of education and youth is pleased to announce the renaming."

Monteith was deputising for Education Minister Maxine Henry-Wilson who was attending a Cabinet retreat.

The schools were built by the Urban Development Corporation (UDC) and West Indies Home Contractors on behalf of the Ministry of Education under the North West Jamaica project. Seventeen schools, 16 of which have been completed, were conceptualised under that project which cost $3.5 billion. The schools will provide 16,000 places for students in the parishes of Trelawny, St James, Hanover and Westmoreland.

According to Monteith, the programme emphasised the infrastructure of the schools in order to create the ideal learning environment.

"This is necessary as a school is not merely a place where curriculum is taught; it is a centre of excellence and cultural expression; a socialising agency; a place where community members share ideas and meet with each other and an institution where our children will develop into responsible citizens," he said.

Monteith's address toasted the sentiments expressed by the line-up of stakeholders that attended the ceremony.

Among them, the school's principal, Yvonne Miller-Wisdom; Gloria Royale-Davis, the assistant vice president, Corporate Services, UDC; Joe Hylton, chairman of the school board; Marline Stephenson-Dalley, the school's vice-chairman; The Jamaica Labour Party's Edmund Bartlett, member of parliament for East Central St James; Donald Colomathi, the People's National Party caretaker for East Central St James; Clarence Nelson, the custos rotulorum for St James; and Jason Cummings president of the school's Parent Teachers Association.




Do you support the Government's move to shorten the time needed to access money held in dormant bank accounts?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon