Barbados off EU blacklist, Dominica added

Barbados off EU blacklist, Dominica added

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Print this page Email A Friend!

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) — The European Union (EU) yesterday removed Barbados from the so-called blacklist of jurisdictions considered non-cooperative for tax purposes, but added Dominica because it said the island still does not fully meet international standards.

“Barbados was added to the EU list in October 2020 after it received a 'partially compliant' rating from the Global Forum [for Transparency and Exchange of Information]. It has now been granted a supplementary review by the Global Forum and has therefore been moved to a state-of-play document, pending the outcome of this review,” the EU Council said in a statement.

“Dominica has been included in the EU list as it received a 'partially compliant' rating from the Global Forum and has not yet resolved this issue,” it added.

Additionally, St Lucia has been removed from the state-of-play document, which identifies jurisdictions that do not yet comply with all international tax standards but which have made sufficient commitments to implement tax good governance principles.
In the meantime, Jamaica has been added to that document as it has committed to amend or abolish its harmful tax regime (special economic zone regime) by the end of 2022, the EU Council added.

The changes to the list take into consideration the ratings recently released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Global Forum as regards exchange of information on request.

The EU requires jurisdictions to be at least “largely compliant” with the international standard on transparency and exchange of information on request.

Following the latest update released yesterday, which includes the addition of Dominica on the blacklist, there are now 12 jurisdictions considered non-cooperative jurisdictions, including Anguilla, Trinidad and Tobago and the US Virgin Islands.

The EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes was established in December 2017. Jurisdictions are assessed on the basis of a set of criteria laid down by the Council in 2016. These criteria cover tax transparency, fair taxation and implementation of international standards designed to prevent tax base erosion and profit shifting.

The list has been revised several times, and as of 2020, it is being updated twice a year.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon