McLaughlin's PPM on track to form Cayman Islands govt

Thursday, May 23, 2013 | 9:23 AM    

Print this page Email A Friend!

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands (CMC) - As the counting of ballots from Wednesday’s General Election continues, the latest results have revealed that the opposition People’s Progressive Movement (PPM) is just one seat short of a majority required for a ruling government. 

 The PPM took four out of six Legislative Assembly seats in George Town, the Cayman Islands’ largest voting district, with results being announced just after dawn Thursday.  

The win in the capital almost assuredly makes PPM leader Alden McLaughlin the country’s next premier, although he acknowledged some possible deal making in the next few days.  

McLaughlin told the Cayman Compass newspaper that his party would look to work with any of the independent candidates, including the Coalition for Cayman candidates, to form a government.  

“We have got nine seats, so we have to go now and talk to everybody in the piece about their willingness to work with us,” McLaughlin said. “The country does not need any more division.”  

He said his party would look to work with any of the independent candidates, including the Coalition for Cayman candidates, to form a government.  

The election results left the former ruling United Democratic Party with three elected members alone in the district of West Bay.  

In addition to the two in George Town, independent candidates were elected in West Bay, North Side, and East End, with lone People’s National Alliance member Juliana O’Connor-Connolly being elected in Cayman Brac.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Who should succeed Portia Simpson Miller as PNP president?
Wykeham McNeill
Peter Bunting
Peter Phillips
Lisa Hanna

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon