Observer wins big at PAJ Awards

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Ace photographer Bryan Cummings was among the winners at Saturday night’s Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ) Awards, copping the Aston Rhoden Award for News Photography for the Jamaica Observer.
The winning photo: Everald Warmington flipping the bird to media workers and Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters earlier this year at the party’s Belmont Road headquarters in New Kingston.
Read: Warmington at it again, flips middle finger to journalists
The Observer walked away with four awards from the award ceremony at the Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston, which marked the end of activities for National Journalism Week. 
Associate Editor, Design, Rorie Atkinson, won the award for ‘Best Cover Design’ for newspapers, while Kimberley Hibbert was awarded with the Theodore Seally/Hector Bernard Award for News. The Observer also took the prize for ‘Best News Website’, much to the delight of the committed online team.
Below are the other winners for the night:
The Carl Wint Award for Human Interest Feature Stories: Christopher Serju – The Gleaner (Print); Zahra Burton – 18 Degrees North (Electronic)
Best Television/Radio Feature: Edgar Lewis – JNN
The Best Entertainment Story: Curtis Campbell – The Gleaner
Junior Dowie Award for Sports Photography: Ricardo Makyn – The Gleaner
Ken Dawson Award for Videography: Omar Green – Jamaica Information Service
Errol Harvey Award for Human Interest Photography: Jermaine Barnaby – The Gleaner
Morris Cargill for Opinion Journalism: Gordon Robinson – The Gleaner
Award for Excellence in Reporting on the Environment: Christopher Serju – The Gleaner
Award for Excellence in Reporting on Children’s Rights: Kayon Raynor – TVJ
Award for Excellence in Reporting on Health and Wellness: Nadine Wilson Harris – The Gleaner
Award for Excellence in Reporting on Agriculture: Christopher Serju – The Gleaner (Print); Anjuii James Sawyers – Jamaica Information Service (Electronic)
Excellence in Reporting on Technology: Marilyn Facey – RJR; Kaneal Gayle – Business Access TV
Best News, Sports and Current Affairs Blog: Zaheer Clarke for Zaheer’s facts, lies and statistics
President’s Award for Investigative Journalism: Khalilah Enriques – Nationwide News Network
Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharpe Award for Sports Journalism: Donald Oliver – CVM TV
Theodore Seally/Hector Bernard Award for News: Andre Jebbinson – TVJ (Electronic); Christopher Serju – Jamaica Gleaner (Print)
Special Lifetime Achievement Award: Barbara Gloudon
Young Journalist of the Year: Tameka Gordon – The Gleaner
Journalist of the Year: Tyrone Reid – CVM TV

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon