Applications invited for PM's Jamaica 55 Commemorative Medal

Friday, February 09, 2018

Print this page Email A Friend!

JAMAICANS at home and in the Diaspora are being encouraged to submit applications for the Prime Minister's Jamaica 55 Commemorative Medal of Appreciation for service to Jamaica, for which nominations will close on February 16.

Speaking with the Jamaica Information Service (JIS) on Tuesday, Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport Olivia Grange, said the award is a special commemorative medal originally instituted by proclamation by the governor general in 1983, and awarded every five years to any person or group of persons who has made significant contributions to the economic, social, cultural or political development of Jamaica.

Nomination forms, which are available at or can be submitted to the Chancery of the Order of the Societies of Honour, Office of the Prime Minister, 1 Devon Road, Kingston 10, or e-mailed to

The awards ceremony, which will be hosted by the prime minister, will be held on March 29 at Jamaica House, Kingston. It is part of the year-long celebrations of Jamaica's 55th anniversary of Jamaica's Independence.

Grange said that 55 individuals and groups will receive awards this year. “However, depending on the nominations that we receive, the individual medals of appreciation may exceed the 55,” she said.

The minister pointed out that awards will be presented in various categories, such as agriculture, business, tourism, religion, communication, culture, community development, education, health and politics.

Grange said that recipients of a national honour or award are not eligible for this award.

She noted that the Commemorative Medal of Appreciation was first introduced on the occasion of the 21st Anniversary of Jamaica's Independence.

“The decision was taken by then Prime Minister Edward Seaga that every five years would be treated as a special commemorative year, a milestone in the journey, and so the medal is awarded every five years,” she added.

The minister said that 1,000 Jamaicans who have made significant contributions to the country have so far received the award. Some of the past recipients were Jamaican champion boxers, Lloyd Honeyghan, Michael McCallum, and the late Trevor Berbick as well as late actress Madge Sinclair, who was awarded the Prime Minister's Medal of Appreciation in 1987.

Companies that have been recognised include GraceKennedy for service in the field of industry, and the National Dance Theatre Company.




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon