Portland Eastern election history

Portland Eastern election history

Thursday, April 04, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE constituency of Portland Eastern extends from a point where the Guava River crosses the St Thomas/Portland parish boundary at Macuna Hill, easterly along the St Thomas/Portland parish boundary to the sea coast to the mouth of the Rio Grande at St Margaret's Bay and along the Rio Grande to where it meets the Guava River. It then goes along the Guava River back to the starting point at the Portland/St Thomas boundary.

Portland Eastern featured in all of the 16 contested parliamentary General Elections: the PNP won 11 times to the JLP's three, and independent candidates twice.

The PNP's victories were in 1959, 1967, 1972, 1976, 1989, 1993, 1997, 2002, 2007, 2011, 2016.

The JLP won in 1955, 1962 and 1980.

The 1983 General Election was not contested by the PNP and Gerald A Tucker (JLP) was elected unopposed.

1944 ELECTORAL LIST 19,112

Harold E Allan, IND 7,542

T Adrian Gray, IND 4,067

1949 ELECTORAL LIST 19,977

Sir Harold E Allan, IND 8,714

L E Dillon, PNP 4,308

Edgar A Hall, IND 1,767

1955 ELECTORAL LIST 20,248

T Adrian Gray, PNP 6,378

Kenneth A Jones, JLP 8,577

1959 ELECTORAL LIST 21,270

Kenneth A Jones, JLP 6,899

Kenneth G Wright, PNP 7,459

1962 ELECTORAL LIST 19,132

Kenneth A Jones, JLP 8,105

Kenneth G Wright, PNP 6,375

1967 ELECTORAL LIST 15,356

Clement T Afflick, JLP 6,462

Kenneth G Wright, PNP 6,530

1972 ELECTORAL LIST 16,438

Lascelles B Tucker, JLP 5,869

Kenneth G Wright, PNP 7,164

1976 ELECTORAL LIST 19,834

Anthony Abrahams, JLP 7,433

Keith Rhodd, PNP 9,292

1980 ELECTORAL LIST 20,981

Anthony Abrahams, JLP 10,196

Keith Rhodd, PNP 7,827

Mable Phillips, IND 93

1983 ELECTORAL LIST 20,981

Gerald Tucker, JLP (unopposed)

1989 ELECTORAL LIST 20,644

Headley S Lawrence, PNP 8,799

Dennis M Wright, JLP 6,426

1993 ELECTORAL LIST 18,442

Headley S Lawrence, PNP 5,300

Percival Latouche, JLP 3,778

Lawrence L Robertson 1,387

1997 ELECTORAL LIST 21,811

Donald Rhodd, PNP 7,737

Samuel Roberts, JLP 4,438

Mernell Green-Lindner, NDM 213

Pervical Latouche, IND 173

2002 ELECTORAL LIST 23,232

Dennis Minott JLP 5,781

Donald Rhodd, PNP 8,082

Votes cast 13,933 (57.5%)

2007 ELECTORAL LIST 25,910

Donald Rhodd, PNP 8,236

Dennis Wright, JLP 7,441

Votes cast 15,757 (60.81%)

2011 ELECTORAL LIST 31,810

Lynvale Bloomfield, PNP 9,316

Patrick Lee, JLP 8,070

Votes cast 17,469 (54.92%)

2016 ELECTORAL LIST 34,396

Lynvale Bloomfield, PNP 8,606

Dennis Minott, IND 67

Derron Wood, JLP 6,330

Votes cast 15,110 (43.93%)

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon