Daley seeks to retain players in St James


Daley seeks to retain players in St James

Thursday, November 07, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

MONTEGO BAY, St James — Gregory Daley, the newly re-elected president of the St James Football Association, says he will be seeking to “empower” the clubs in the parish in an effort to retain players.

Daley, who was re-elected unopposed to serve his third term at their general meeting and voting congress held at Corinaldi Avenue Primary in Montego Bay on Monday, has rejected the notion that the game was dying in the parish, as he urged the clubs to devise strategies in a bid to keep the players from leaving for clubs outside of St James.

For the first time in decades, St James and western Jamaica, do not have a club in the Premier League, and that has resulted in a number of top players leaving for other parishes as they seek to play in the island's top club league.

A number of players have also left the parish and are playing schoolboy football in other parishes, some as far as Kingston in the Manning Cup competition.

“One of the main things is to empower the clubs, as one of the problems we are having is that we are losing our best players through migration to other parishes, so we need to find a way to get the clubs to come together and keep their players within the parish,” Daley told the Jamaica Observer West after the meeting.

“We need to send the message that football in the parish is not dying as this is the main recruiting grounds for almost the entire island,” he pointed out.

Daley, who also has plans to improve several football fields around the city of Montego Bay, will lead an executive that was elected largely unopposed and retained a number of persons, but in different positions.

The president and treasurer Gavin McNeil, were both returned to their previous positions as five of the six members of the executive were nominated unopposed.

Gregory Palmer, a council member in the previous administration, beat Jeffrey Forbes 22-17 for the position of second vice-president, while Dennis Waite who was the general secretary is the new first vice-president, replacing the veteran David Watt who did not seek re-election. Richard Dennis of Bogue FC is the new general secretary.

Tracey Reid of Granville United will be the new assistant secretary, while McNeil was returned as the treasurer.

The five new council members voted in were Deon Stern-Anglin, Forbes, Diane Grey, Kevin Christie and Tyrone Gordon.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaper-login




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon