Bridge View claim Portmore T20 title

BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter

Tuesday, November 27, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

BRIDGE View swept to victory in the inaugural Portmore Cricket Association Twenty20 (T20) Championships after brushing aside GC Foster by nine wickets in Sunday's final at the Bridgeport playing field.

Jermaine Harrison was the star of the show, belting nine fours and eight sixes off a mere 44 balls in his knock of 100 as Bridge View successfully chased 139 for the win.

Scores: GC Foster 138-7 (20 overs); Bridge View 139-1 (12.3 overs)

Earlier, GC Foster batted first and could only muster 138-7 off their allotted 20 overs. Wayne Morgan struck 35, while leg-spinning all-rounder Gavin Wallace made 33. Rajiv Chatrie chipped in with 30 not out.

Bowling for Bridge View, Frederick Hermit grabbed 3-13, while Colin Buchanan and former West Indies pacer Daren Powell took 2-30 and 1-15, respectively.

In reply, Bridge View raced to 139-1 inside the 13th over on the back of Harrison's hurricane-like onslaught. Oneil Weir was unbeaten on 26, while Powell ended on 11 not out.

Oshane Nation took the lone wicket to fall and finished with 1-10.

In the third-place play-off match, Colour's International slumped to a nine-wicket defeat at the hands of Ken's Wildflower.

Scores: Colour's International 61 (16.4 overs); Ken's Wildflower 63-1 (14.5 overs)

The 2012 16-team Portmore cricket tournament represents a move from the 35-overs-a-side competition that is usually held, as organisers across the island push for the increase in the playing of T20 cricket.

The tournament is sponsored by the Chase Fund, Wray & Nephew, KLAS Sports Radio and Ken's Wildflower.




Do you believe Dr Peter Phillips will be a better People's National Party (PNP) president than Portia Simpson Miller?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon