D'Town face Rollington in LIME/INSPORTS Primary League

BY GERALD REID Observer Writer

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Print this page Email A Friend!

LAST year's Kingston's beaten finalists, Denham Town, will face Rollington Town as the LIME/INSPORTS All-Island Primary Schools football championship continues today at Breezy Castle playing field, Port Royal Street, starting at 12:15 pm.

Ten other matches are schedule for the Bell Chung Stadium, Mountain View and New Providence field today.

The Championship had its launched and opening matches at the St Elizabeth Technical (STETHS) in Santa Cruz last week, with All-Island and Kingston champions, Holy Family, blanking St Andrew Primary, 2-0.

At Breezy Castle today, it's St. Aloysius vs Clan Carthy at 11:00am and Allman Town vs St Benedict's at 1:30 pm. At Bell Chung Stadium, it's Windward Road vs Elleston at 12:15 pm and St Francis vs Seaward at 1:30 pm. At the Mountain View field, it's Tavares Gardens vs Iris Gelly at 12:15 and St Alban's vs Mountain View at 1:30.

At New Providence, it's St Jude's vs John Mills at 11:00; Excelsior vs Greenwich at 12:15, and Alpha vs Jones Town at 1:30.

The competition has attracted 405 schools islandwide. The winning schools in each parish will advance to the round of 16, along with one wild card entry. During the preliminary rounds, the top two schools from each zone will advance to the quarter-finals Knock-out round.

The St Andrew parish competition will kick-off tomorrow with defending champions Tarrant vs George Headley at Duhaney Park at 11:00 am. Some 13 matches will be played at five venues.


ZONE A: Holy Family, St Andrew, Windward Road, Elleston, St Francis, Seaward, St Jude's and John Mills.

ZONE B: Denham Town, Rollington Town, Allman Town, St Benedict's, Excelsior, Greenwich and Trench Town.

ZONE C: St Aloysius, Clan Carthy, Calabar, Harbour View, Whitfield, Holy Rosary and Seaward.

ZONE D: Tavares Gardens, Iris Gelly, St Alban's, Mountain View, Alpha, Jones Town and Dupont.


ZONE A: Tarrant, George Headley, Constant Spring, Craighton, Dunrobin, Pembroke Hall, Mona and Hope Valley Experimental.

ZONE B: Balmagie, Maverly, Dallas, King's Gate, Golden Spring, Half-Way-Tree and Woodford.

ZONE C: Duhaney Park, St Richard's, St Patrick's, Rousseau, Drews Avenue, August Town and Mount Fletcher.

ZONE D: Maxfield Park, New Providence, Swallowfield, Balcombe Drive, Suthermere, Shortwood Practising and Red Hills.




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon