Global stars for today's CPL Draft

Thursday, April 03, 2014    

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE Limacol Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has confirmed a stellar line-up of cricketers registered to take part in this year's competition.

Today's announcement includes the six International Franchise Players (IFPs) chosen by the teams, and all of the players entering the 2014 draft, which takes place today in Kingston, Jamaica.

The six IFPs will include three returning stars and three newcomers to the CPL. International cricket's most successful bowler ever, Muttiah Muralitharan (Jamaica Tallawahs), CPL 2013's leading run-scorer, Shoaib Malik (Barbados Tridents), and New Zealand's Ross Taylor (Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel) will all return to their 2013 teams, while the top wicket-taker in T20 Internationals, Saeed Ajmal (Antigua Hawksbills), record-breaking New Zealander Corey Anderson (Guyana Amazon Warriors) and Australian T20 specialist Brad Hodge (St Lucia Zouks), will all make their CPL debuts.

Vying to join the six IFPs in the Biggest Party in Sport will be global stars like Shahid Afridi, Kevin Pietersen, Kumar Sangakkara and Daniel Vettori, as well as more than 100 Caribbean players, who will all enter the 2014 draft.

Big-hitting Afridi will feature alongside 26 of his Pakistani compatriots, including Umar Gul, World T20 centurion, Ahmed Shehzad, and Test and ODI captain, Misbah-ul-Haq, while 13 New Zealanders, including James Franklin, Martin Guptill and Jesse Ryder, join former Black Caps skipper Daniel Vettori in the draft.

11 Sri Lankans will go into the draft, including former captains Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan, as well as hard-hitting all-rounder Thisara Perera, and mystery spinner Ajantha Mendis.

Australia has the largest overseas contingent in the draft, with 32 players, including prolific batsmen David Hussey and Adam Voges, pace bowlers Shaun Tait and Dirk Nannes, and spinners Brad Hogg and Xavier Doherty.

South Africa seamer Vernon Philander, who tasted CPL success last year with the Jamaica Tallawahs, is hoping to return to the competition for a second year alongside Herschelle Gibbs, who played for St Lucia Zouks in 2013.

Twenty-three South Africans in total will go into the draft, including current Proteas stars Robin Peterson and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

England internationals Simon Jones, Dimitri Mascarenhas and Owais Shah, will line up alongside former teammate Kevin Pietersen in the Draft. They will be joined by Bangladesh pair Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, Zimbabwe spinner Ray Price, Irish World Cup hero Kevin O'Brien, Netherlands World T20 star Tom Cooper, and Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi.

CPL 2014 will give cricketers from across the Caribbean the opportunity to play with and against some of the best players in the world. Up and coming cricketers, such as Nicolas Pooran and Jason Holder, will enter the draft alongside Windies Test stars like Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Tino Best, and current World T20 players, Samuel Badree, Dwayne Smith and Krishmar Santokie.

The Draft takes place at Chris Gayle's Triple Century Bar in Kingston, Jamaica at 2:30 pm and will be streamed live at

Each franchise team will have a squad of 19 players, and each squad will comprise of two pre-selected players -- one West Indies Franchise Player (WIFP) and one International Franchise Player (IFP), to be selected by the franchise. Each franchise must have a maximum of three additional overseas players. Six players from each team must be registered to the local cricket board for the home territory or country of the Franchise, and be nationals of that country.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Should the shift system be eliminated  in all high schools?
Not All

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon