Icons return for 2014 CPL

Gayle, Pollard, Bravo, Narine, Sammy, Samuels to spearhead franchises again

Tuesday, March 18, 2014    

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has announced the return of the six West Indies icons who will spearhead their franchise teams in this year's competition.

Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels will all return for what promises to be another hugely exciting tournament.

After thrilling fans of their newly adopted teams last summer, the six stars will be hoping to bring home CPL glory in August.

Gayle, T20's most destructive batsman, will return to the Jamaica Tallawahs, whom he led to CPL triumph in 2013, while Kieron Pollard will once again join the Barbados Tridents, after winning over local fans with some inspirational performances last year.

Dwayne Bravo, will lead his native Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, where fans will be hoping he can build on last year's semi-final appearance, while top spinner, Sunil Narine, will once again be the jewel in the crown of the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Proud St Lucian Darren Sammy will spearhead the Zouks' title challenge, while explosive batsman Marlon Samuels will be back to mastermind the Antigua Hawksbills campaign.

Tom Moody, director of cricket, CPL, said, "We're delighted to be welcoming back our icon players to the CPL this season. After flying the flag for their franchises in 2013, we're glad to announce their return to what promises to be an exhilarating six weeks of cricket."

Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise player Narine, said, "I thoroughly enjoyed playing for the Amazon Warriors last year in what was a hugely competitive and fun tournament. I hope we can go one better than last year and give the people of Guyana something to celebrate."

The CPL launched last year to sell-out crowds, with over 250,000 spectators attending matches across Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and St Lucia, whilst a global TV audience of 36 million were entertained by the skills of international stars, including Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Ricky Ponting and Muttiah Muralitharan.

The tournament returns in July and August 2014 where Jamaica Tallawahs will defend their title against the St Lucia Zouks, Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel, Antigua Hawksbills, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon