J'can stars shine at Team Bickle Awards

BY PAUL A REID Observer Writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

Wednesday, May 02, 2012

Print this page Email A Friend!

COACH Michael Dyke and his Edwin Allen girls were the toast of Saturday afternoon's Team Jamaica Bickle (TJB) awards ceremony for Jamaican schools at the 118th Penn Relays Carnival at Franklin Field, Philadelphia.

Edwin Allen won two girls' relays — the 4x400m and 4x800m — while Danniel Thomas set a new meet record in the discus throw and Kimberly Williams retained her high jump title.

Thomas, who completed her high school career, threw a personal best 51.02m to become the third straight Jamaican schoolgirl to win the event, and fourth overall.

Dyke, who led Edwin Allen to their first ISSA/GraceKennedy Girls Championship this year, was also named the top coach.

Jamaican schools won two more relays, with Wolmer's Boys' and Munro College retaining their 4x100m and 4x400m titles, respectively, while there were four other individual events winners.

Vere Technical's Shardie Lawrence won in the girl's triple jump; Manchester High's Chanice Porter the girls high jump; Kingston College's Clive Pullen won the boys' long jump and Christophe Bryan the boys high jump.

The awardees were given gift baskets donated by the many sponsors, while Jamaican businessman Vincent Hosang also donated US$10,000 to TJB in their ongoing efforts to accommodate and feed the Jamaican athletes, coaches and support staff, as well as members of the media who attended the annual event.

The Edwin Allen 4x800m team of Carla Thompson, Desreen Montaque, Saneeke Gardner and Marleena Eubanks which ran 8 minutes 52.97 seconds to win the Clarendon school's fifth plaque in the event was named the outstanding relay team.

Thomas was named the outstanding female individual athlete, while Munro College's Delano Williams, who ran a 400m split of 45.8 seconds to take his team from fourth to first place, took the boys' award. Ifeanyi Oiuonye, Senoj-j Givans and Herbert Thomas ran the first three legs for Munro.

The Wolmer's Boys' team of Raheem Robinson, Odean Skeen, Jermaine Fyffe and Yannick Hart which won the 4x100m in 40.34 seconds, beating Jamaica College, 40.57, and Hebert Morrison Technical, 41.03, were also honoured by the TJB committee.

Edwin Allen coach Michael Dyke (right) accepts his award from a TJB representative.

The victorious Wolmer's Boys' 400m relay squad poses with their prizes.

Munro College's Championship Boys' 1600m relay team with their TJB prizes.

Edwin Allen's new discus record-holder Danniel Thomas (right) receives her Team Jamaica Bickle (TJB) awards at the 118th Penn Relays Carnival at Franklin Field, Philadelphia on Saturday. (Photos: Paul Reid)

Munro College's Delano Williams, who ran a 400m split of 45.8 seconds to take his team from fourth to first place, collects the outstanding boy award.


Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon