JPS Rockfort Football League closes with Wareika FC on high note

Saturday, September 29, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

The Wareika Hills Football Club was officially crowned the victorious 2012 champions of the JPS Rockfort Football League at the recent closing ceremony held at the JPS Sports Club at Ruthven Road in Kingston.

The winner's spot entitled them to take home the championship trophy, as well as $80,000. They also took home sectional prizes including best goalkeeper, in the person of Orlando Braham, who won $15,000 for his performance throughout the league. Wareika's Romario Atkinson also did himself proud with the Most Valuable Player designation, having earned five goals for his team. The achievement saw the footballer taking home $20,000 for the feat.

Other high performers in the league were recognised and rewarded at the ceremony, including second place winners Springfield Football Club and third place winners Manley Meadows FC.

Another high performer was Top Scheme, who was awarded the Most Disciplined Team award, as well as best coach Michael Goulbourne.

The JPS Rockfort Football League saw roughly 10 weeks of football action from 16 teams in and around the Rockfort Area.

This was the 10th year that the power company was sponsoring the league -- this year to the tune of over $1.7 m, including gear, cash and prizes.



Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon