Jamaica College's winding journey through the maze of time

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Print this page Email A Friend!




JAMAICA College (JC) was founded in 1789 by planter Charles Drax (making it the third-oldest high school in the country) as the Drax Free School in the parish of St Ann.


Drax came to Jamaica from Barbados in 1721 and left money in his will to establish a charity school in St Ann. There were some delays and legal proceedings before the money was handed over to the St Ann vestry.


In 1806, Walton Pen was bought for the site of the school, and a year later another act of legislature gave the school the name, "The Jamaica Free School".


Jamaica High School


In 1879, during the governorship of Sir Anthony Musgrave, provision was made by law for the Jamaica Free School, under a new name, The Jamaica High School, to come under the control of the Jamaica School Commission. The school now had a new headmaster, Reverend (later Archdeacon) William Simms. This law also authorised the removal of the school from Walton Pen in St Ann in 1883, and classes were conducted in the Barbican Great House until 1885.


First University College


In September 1890, a college, then known as University College, was opened in connection with the school. In 1902, roughly a century after the endowment of the Drax Free School, the Jamaica High School and the University College were amalgamated under the name Jamaica College. This made JC the first University College of Jamaica, long before the founding of the University of the West Indies in the mid-20th Century.


Jamaica College


The buildings on Old Hope Road were opened on July 9, 1885, and the first classes there took place in September of the same year.


By the 1930s, with an expanded student population, JC was actually functioning as an established high school. This role was formalised in 1957, with the introduction of the Common Entrance system and the democratisation of the Jamaican secondary education system.


From 1902 to 1967, Jamaica College functioned as a boarding institution. Today, as a day school, it boasts students from a wide cross section of the society. Over the years it has nurtured a rich tradition in athletic and academic fields. Its Old Boys continue to play important roles in the religious, political, business and professional services of our country. The school's rich history continues to be written by present students, who respond to its motto, Fervet Opus in Campis (May the College Flourish, Work is Burning in the Fields).




Source: School's website


ADVERTISEMENT




POST A COMMENT

HOUSE RULES

1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy



comments powered by Disqus
ADVERTISEMENT

Poll

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon
ADVERTISEMENT