Nelson wins Golden Boot, Marshall MVP as U17 Boyz lose to Haiti

By Howard Walker Observer Senior Sports Reporter

Monday, October 27, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!


PORT AU PRINCE, Haiti -- Jamaica Under -17s succumbed to hosts Haiti losing 0-2 in the final of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) but walked away with the Most Valuable Player and Golden Boots awards.

Nicholas Nelson with his six goals from four games, in which he started only once, earned him the Golden Boots awards while midfielder Alex Marshall was adjudged the Most Valuable Player.

In Sunday night’s final Haitian captain Jacques Mettelus converted twice from the spot in the 20th and 75th minutes as Haiti crowned themselves Caribbean Under 17 champions in front of a packed and boisterous Sylvio Cator Stadium.

The Haitians provided a party atmosphere and their boys delivered in workmanlike fashion aided by two crucial decisions by Cuban referee Yadel Pupo.

The Jamaicans had a decent shout for penalty turned down in the 82nd minute after Nelson was uprooted by Haitian goalkeeper Emmanuel Chery who won the Golden Gloves award.

It was a critical decision because Jamaica were having a very good spell trying to get back in the game and Chery was the last defender. Had the penalty been given, he would have received a red card.

Nevertheless, the slicker moving Haitians, were deserved winners despite Jamaica creating anxious moments for them throughout.

Head coach Andrew Edwards, though disappointed with the result, thought his team gave a good account of themselves.

"I wouldn’t say we are extremely disappointed because i knew what we were up against and i thought the boys did very well and I am extremely proud of them," said Edwards.

"We were always up against the odds. Haiti has been in preparation for over two years preparation and we had a couple of months under our belt and its not even a couple of a consistent months. So overall I thought we did extremely well today," he noted.

Jamaica: Akeem Chambers, Antoniel Mullings (Javain Brown 46th), Ajeanie Talbot, Ryan Knight, Fabian Grant, Hakim Williams, Shandel Senior, Peter Vassell, Alex Marshall, Justin McMaster (Tajea Brown 58th), Donovan Dawkins (Nicholas Nelson 58th).
Subs not used: Jahmali Waite, Delano Gardner, Deshane Beckford, Alex Thompson, Charles Grant.
Booked: Vassell 8th, Williams 79th.

Haiti: Emmanuel Chery, Jude Maitre, Deno Ulysse, Denilson Pierre (Mohandas Desire 66th), Fardyson Pierre, Jacques Metellus, Kenley Dede, Davidson Claude (Ronaldo Damus 46th), Johnson Jeudy, Junior Joseph, Bicou Bissainthe.
Subs not used: Isaac Rouaud, John Charles, Thermidor Fis-aime, Damien Angibaud, Angelo Thelusme, Belora Charles, Fernandes Paul.
Booked: Chery 30th, Deno Ulysse 44th, Fardyson Pierre 80th.

Referees: Tadel Pupo (Cuba)
Assistant referees: Leonardo Sanchez (Cuba), Rochard Ainsley (Trinidad and Tobago)
Fourth Official: Leo Clarke (St Lucia)
Match Commissary: Hubert Insenia (Curacao)

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon