New Providence surge to lead going into final day

BY GERALD REID Observer writer

Saturday, May 10, 2014    

Print this page Email A Friend!

NEW Providence are the new leaders in the 2014 INSPORTS/Seprod Primary Schools Athletics Championships at the end of day three at the National Stadium yesterday.

The four-day championships which enter its final day today will see 34 finals to be contested after which the overall winner will be crowned. The meet begins this morning at 9:00.

At the completion of six finals, New Providence lead with 29 points, followed by defending champions Naggo Head 23.50, Rousseau 23, Clan Carthy 11, Time and Patience nine, Black River nine and Red Hills, Lyssons and Morant Bay all on seven points each.

Yesterday, Jhnell Gordon of New Providence won the Girls' Long Jump Open with a leap of 4.60 metres ahead of Shenelle Evans of Naggo head (4.54m) and Adiana Brown of Corinaldi Avene (4.42 metres).

The Boys' Cricket Throw Open was won by Maise Cunningham of Black River with a throw of 57.90 metres ahead of Leroy Aaron of Morant Bay (54.48m) and Doshain Gordon of St John's (54.15).

Meanwhile, the race for championships honours is still a wide open affair between defending champions Naggo Head, New Providence, Greater Portmore and St John's as they have qualified for a number of finals.

The Class One Girls' 100 metres final should draw a lot of interest as Ashanti Clarke of Harbour View with the fastest time done in the semi-finals of 13.21 seconds, Nigeri Roberts of Golden Spring (13.55), and Monique Jackson of St Benedict's (13.57) down to do battle.

It will also be a closely contested Class One Boys' 100 metres final with Anthony Haslam of New Providence entering the final having clocked the fastest time of 12.14 seconds. However, he will be hard-pressed by Daniel Chambers of Greater Portmore (12.57 seconds) and Isaac Scott of Lluidas Vale (12.87).

The Class Two Boys' 100 metres final should also be hotly-contested between Javain Johnson of Hillside (12.93 seconds), Tajah Taffe of Greater Portmore (13.23), Dishaun Lamb of Spanish Town (13.06), and Daniel Thomas of Greater Portmore (13.50).

Meanwhile, the Class Three Boys' 100 metres final should be a keen duel among Osani Birthwright of Howard Cooke (13.56 seconds) and Jevan Newby of Greater Portmore (13.78 seconds), Adrian Kerr of Alpha (13.63), and Yourie Lawrence of Naggo Head (13.65).





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon