New champions in Age Group Chess Championships

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Print this page Email A Friend!

After six rounds and two weekends of exciting play, all sections of the Grace Tropical Rhythms National Age Group Chess Championships produced new champions.

The tournament decides the National Chess Champions at the youth level for Under-8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18.

Winning at the Under-8 absolute section was Kishan Clarke of Hillel Academy with 5.5 points. Second and third were Anthony Lyn and Krish Khemlani on five points each. The girls at the same age were Jhalia Troupe of Queen's Prep in first, ahead of Jaya-Rene Richards and Alliyah Kirkland.

Under-10 saw Christopher Udeagha of St Judes Primary topping the section with six points, followed closely by David Thomas and Jhomoi Blake. Jhomoi did win the female category after a play-off against second-placed Amy Stephenson. Third in the Under-10 female was Raehanna Brown.

The hotly contested Under-12 section saw a return from Leighton Barrett of Ardenne High. He claimed the section with a perfect six points. Lontae Walker finished second and Adani Clarke was third. Under-12 female champion was Adani Clarke, while Nishani Clarke and Jhomoi Blake were second and third, respectively.

Rural players top older categories

While the lower age groups saw all Urban winners, the older age categories were all rural winners. Rural players took the majority of medals overall.

Top-coach Mikhail Solomon said: "I am very elated at this epic performance. The students have worked extremely hard and are well deserving of this noble accomplishment."

He continued: "The sky is now the limit, we now press towards our goal of creating a new dynasty of strong chess masters at international standards."

Under-14 absolute was won by Akeem Brown of St Jago High with 5.5 points. Second was Lontae Walker and third was Ramesh Watson. The female section was won by Ashley Rene Gregory with Rochelle Porter and Alliyah Yankana finishing second and third.

Michael Christie had to go through a play-off with his brother to capture the Under-16 title. This after both tied on five points each. Joshua Christie was second and Akeem Brown third.

In a similar manner, Sheanel Gardner took the female title after a play-off with Rochelle Porter. Third was Alliyah Yankana.

The highest absolute age category went to National Master Alistair Walker of St Jago High, after a slight setback, with 5.5 points. Second was Nathan Belinfante and third was John Lord.

WFM Rachel Miller won the Under-18 female section with a perfect six points. She was followed by Sheanel Gardner and Adani Clarke.

Internationally titled players FM Warren Elliott and IM Jomo Pitterson were the arbiters of the event which had over 300 participants from across the island.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon