Raging Prospect makes easy work of New Year's Day trophy race


Thursday, January 02, 2014    

Print this page Email A Friend!

ON a day dedicated to honouring the fans of racing, Raging Prospect, under a collected ride from top apprentice Shamaree Muir, easily won the feature event, the Caymanas Track Limited Fan Appreciation trophy over 1,820 metres.

The five-year-old chestnut gelding by He'stherealthing-Raging Fury, after being close to the leader Miracle Star for much of the race, made a decisive move three furlongs out and was never in danger of losing, winning in a time of 1:55.1 minutes. Second went to Miracle Star with Exotic Gold third, but the second and third placing were later reversed by the stewards of the race meeting. Raging Prospect, who is trained by Fitzroy Glispie, won by eight lengths.

All Correct, after only one appearance in 2013, returned to racing with a bang under the astute guidance of jockey Dick Cardenas to win the 1,300 metres (6 1/2 furlongs) New Year's Day trophy event.

Having spent most of his time on the farm last year, All Correct, trained by Wayne DaCosta, finally released some of his three-year-old promise with a dogged performance, as after being harassed for most of the stretch drive by the in-form Piscean Rocket, held on to win by a neck in a respectable 1:19.1 minutes. Princess Shaniel, who prompted the early pace, was third.

The distinction of winning the first race of the season went to Safe Passage, ridden by champion jockey Dane Nelson and trained by young conditioner, Nicholas Edwards.

The new year proved to be one of promise for apprentice rider Sadiki Blake, who rode the first winner in his career, which started in September of 2012, when he won on the 53/1 chance Pocket Money in the day's ninth race, section two of the McKay Security Limited trophy.

"This is a real joy for me. I have been trying for so long and I have waited and waited, then it happened. I am so happy, and what a way to start the new year. Ah happy, really happy," an emotional Blake said after returning to the winners' enclosure. The first section of the McKay trophy race was taken by Cause For Concern ridden by Richard Mitchell.

At the end of the first day of racing for 2014, Dane Nelson rode two winners (Safe Passage and Valid Image), as did Omar Walker (Locked and Loaded and Anntrack) and Dick Cardenas (Double De Honey and All Correct).

Champion trainer DaCosta saddled two winners, Double De Honey and All Correct.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Will you close your bank account because of Government's tax on withdrawals?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon