Rowe's Strikers clip Eagles in skittles final

Tuesday, September 04, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE ailing Alfred Rowe, in whose honour Rowe's Strikers is named, was a happy man as his team turned the challenge of defending champions Eagles Strikers to win the Wray and Nephew Skittles championship, 6-4, at Bourbon House in East Kingston on Sunday.

The result was not pleasing for Eagles' manager Ernel Brown who witnessed his star-studded team crash to defeat against the only team to have beaten them in zone play this season.

Eagles drew first blood after captain Clinton 'Fly Up' Thompson out-cued Durrant Davis, but Rowe's were soon level when Lenville Pottinger used a last ball sinkers to beat Everett Melbourne.

Colin Cahndai then beat Everald McPherson to give Rowes a 2-1 lead, but the scores were level after William Morris was disqualified for illegal play.

The ding-dong battle continued as Luke Patterson beat Orville Mighty, 1,250-0 to gives Rowe's another lead, which was cut short through victories by Rudolph 'Nyah' Mullings and Robert McKen over Alton Young and Karyl Walker, respectively.

McKen's win proved the last hurrah for Eagles Strikers as Rowe's captain Raval Montague made light work of Garfield Willis and Clifford 'Shakes' Campbell outclassed Dane 'World Youth' Jones to leave Joe Patterson with little to do to beat a seemingly jaded Ralston 'Flaw Flaw' Robinson.

The winners collected $80,000 and the Wray and Nephew trophy, while the runners pocketed $40,000.

Waltham strikers defeated Eastern Strikers, 6-4, for third place.

In the Major League Mr C (B) beat Mystix, 6-3, by virtue of six last ball sinkers expertly taken by Renford Lyle, James Dean, Derrick Moulton, Thomas Johnson, Vando Campbell and Clifford Hewitt to take the honours, while The Dip defeated Olympic Strikers, 6-1, in the third place play off.



Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon