Smith to lead Windies A in T20s against Sri Lanka A

Monday, June 17, 2013

Print this page Email A Friend!

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent (CMC) — West Indies batsman Dwayne Smith will lead the West Indies A team against Sri Lanka A team in two T20 matches this week at Arnos Vale in St Vincent.
Smith, a prolific scorer in the just-ended Indian Premier League (IPL), is one of four members of the West Indies World T20 champion team named on the regional A team for the series.
The others are Lendl Simmons, allrounder Andre Russell, and leg-spinner Samuel Badree who were part of the squad which beat Sri Lanka to win the prestigious ICC World T20 Trophy at the R Premadasa Stadium last October.
The quartet will form the main part of the Windies A Team when the matches are played on Tuesday and Wednesday.
First ball in both matches is 2:00 pm (1:00 pm Jamaica time).
The 13-man squad includes four other players who have represented the West Indies in T20 Internationals.
These are: fast bowler Shannon Gabriel, off-spinner Ashley Nurse, top-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and batting allrounder Christopher Barnwell.
The rest of the squad is seam bowler Kevin Cooper, who has performed with distinction for Trinidad & Tobago; wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton, who played two Test matches back in 2009; rookie allrounder Kyle Mayers; left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cotterell, and middle-order batsman Keddy Lesporis – both graduates of the Sagicor High Performance Centre.
Dwayne Smith (Captain)
Samuel Badree
Christopher Barnwell
Nkrumah Bonner
Kevon Cooper
Sheldon Cotterell
Shannon Gabriel
Keddy Lesporis
Kyle Mayers
Ashley Nurse
Andre Russell
Lendl Simmons
Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper)




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon