Sweet revenge for Tomorrow's People

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer

Tuesday, February 05, 2013    

Print this page Email A Friend!

MONTEGO BAY, St James — Tomorrow's People avenged their only loss of the season by edging Reno FC 1-0 in their Jamaica Football Federation Captain's Bakery and Grill Western Confederation Super League return-round game at Jarrett Park on Sunday.

Dalkeith McPherson's first-half penalty conversion gave Tomorrow's People maximum three points as they leap-frogged Reno into first place in Zone Two, while Wadadah continued their march in Zone One with a 2-0 win over Logwood United in the second game of the double-header at Jarrett Park to maintain their lead.

After losing to Reno in the first round, Tomorrow's People carved out a hard-fought victory yesterday, holding on after McPherson scored from the spot in the 16th minute.

Reno had several chances to score in the second half, the best coming in the 54th minute when Dennis O'Conner had only goalkeeper Tito Dobson to beat, but allowed the hobbling custodian to block his shot for a corner.

Dobson suffered a series of leg cramps in the second half, but with no backup on the bench, coach Paul 'Tegat' Davis, was forced to ride his luck for the duration of the second half.

Wadadah improved their winning run to four games, the last three without conceding a goal with an easy 2-0 win over Logwood United who had held them 0-0 in the first round.

Holland United won for the first time in seven rounds, since the opening weekend when they outscored home team Bamboo FC with five goals coming in a frenetic final 38 minutes of the game that saw Ronique Haynes scoring the winner in time added on.

Catherine Hall's slide continued as they had to equalise late in the game to earn a draw with Petersfield FC which they had beaten 2-0 in the first round and extended their winless run to five games, while St James strugglers Norwood Strikers and Granville played out a 1-1 draw at the UDC field.




Do you believe Dr Peter Phillips will be a better People's National Party (PNP) president than Portia Simpson Miller?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon