Tantalising Taylor!

Tantalising Taylor!

C’Bar star smashes Class Two 400m record

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

Saturday, February 07, 2015

Print this page Email A Friend!

CHRISTOPHER Taylor had eyes popping with a jaw-dropping 46.87 seconds to break the Class Two 400m record at the Puma Youngster Goldsmith Meet at the National Stadium yesterday.

Taylor, 15, who smashed last year's Class Three 400m record with 48.72, showed how he has improved by taking 1.85 seconds off his personal best.

Lenardo Ledgister of STETHS was second, some distance back with 49.43, and ahead of Munro College's Sheldon Smith in 49.93 seconds.

Although he did run hard, Taylor has clearly sent out an ominous warning to the last boy to have beaten him -- Nathaniel Bann of Kingston College (KC) in 2013.

In fact, Taylor's time was even quicker than the Class One boys, headed by the impressive Twayne Crooks of KC, who did 46.92 seconds in winning heat eight, which was the fastest time overall.

Jamaica College's (JC) Devaughn Baker won heat two in 47.86 seconds, while Devaughn Ellington of Petersfield High was third quickest in winning heat 13 in 48.05 seconds.

Meanwhile, Sekuma Cameron of Edwin Allen won heat three in the battle of wills against DawnaLee Loney of Camperdown High.

Loney, formerly of Balaclava High in St Elizabeth, was out in a flash but Cameron got into top gear at the 300m mark, swept by her, then held her form to register a decent 53.63 seconds. Loney was second in 54.07 seconds. Ashley Williams of Holmwood High won heat two in 54.71 and was third quickest overall.

Janeil Moore of Edwin Allen took the Class Two 400m honours in 56.70 seconds. Her teammate Shannon Kalawan won heat three in 56.93 seconds with third going to Manchester High's Danielle Thompson in 56.97 seconds.

Edwin Allen were at it again as Nadine Rose took the Class Three event ensuring that her school swept the girls' 400 metres. She won in 57.84 seconds ahead of St Jago's Rehana Christie in 58.21 seconds.

Calabar went one-two in the Class One 1,500m courtesy of Alex Hutton, who won heat two by a city block in 4:02.26 minutes. Orville Dixon won heat three in 4:10.62 minutes, with KC's Delano Rochester third fastest with 4:10.91 minutes in winning heat one.

GC Foster's Andre Clarke won the men's 400m hurdles in 52.20 seconds ahead of Jamie Dennis of the University of the West Indies (UWI) in 53.07. Former KC athlete Andre Peart, who ran unattached, was third in 53.43 seconds.

Hydel's Britaney Duncan won the Under-20 girls' 400m hurdles in 1:01.26 minutes ahead of Patrice Moody of Edwin Allen in 1:01.50. Vere Technical's Shanice Clark was third in 1:01.55 minutes.

Ronda Whyte of GC Foster won the women's 400m open in 59.66 seconds, while Alvina Howell of Edwin Allen captured the girls' steeplechase in 7:16.52 minutes. Her teammate Teresa Jacobs was second in 7:33.52 minutes. Vere Technical's Alithia Ferron was third in 7:34.18 minutes.

KC's Devonte Bancroft won the Class Two triple jump with a leap of 13.25m ahead of Calabar's Daniel Allen with 13.23m. Safin Wills of JC was third with 13.19m.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon