Tee time? Jamaican golfers take off for Caribbean Golf Champs

Saturday, August 04, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

Jamaica's team to the RBC 56TH Annual Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships will depart the island tomorrow for St Kitts.

The Championships, which will be played at the Royal St Kitts Golf Club, will see nine nations participating, inclusive of Barbados, The Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, OECS, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and Turks & Caicos Islands.

Jamaica's Hoerman Cup team, while a relatively young, is expected to do well. Team members include Wesley Brown, Fabian Campbell, Ian Facey, William Knibbs and Jonathan Newnham.

The mid-amateurs are Montego Bay-based Keith Stein and Sean Morris (team captain), whose combined experience will give Jamaica a fighting chance at winning the Ramon Baez Trophy.

Robert Chin and Radcliff Knibbs are well prepared for the challenge of bringing home the Francis & Steele-Perkins Trophy. Veteran national representative Dennis Atkinson and Opeton Marshall will make a strong showing for the Jamaican super-senior side.

Many-time national team member, Jodi Barrow will be at the helm of a new ladies team, comprising of junior golfers Sherisse Walker and Rochell Prince.

A special feature of the tournament is the Birdies for Charity event, which will be run within the championships. The teams will be competing to see which country will raise the most funds by accumulating birdies (one below par) for selected charities in their home countries.



Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon