VCB, Carter, Taylor shortlisted for Walsh Award

Wednesday, October 17, 2012    

Print this page Email A Friend!

THE Selection Committee for the Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence has released the names of three persons shortlisted for the award. They are cricketer Stafanie Taylor and Olympians Veronica Campbell Brown and Nesta Carter.

The recipient will be announced on the night of the ceremony scheduled for tomorrow.

Taylor made her debut at the age of 17 and scored 90 off 49 balls in West Indies’ 75-run win over Ireland in her first Twenty/20 game. As an international cricketer she was a part of the West Indies women’s team which finished fifth at the 2009 World Cup in Australia.

Her most recent effort for the West Indies at the World Twenty/20 in Galle led to the defeat of South Africa and helped put the team through to the semi-finals. The West Indies eventually lost to Australia at Colombo on October 5.

Campbell Brown, a six-time Olympic medallist, is considered one of the greatest Caribbean female sprinters of all time. In 1999, while in high school, she became the first woman to win the World Youth Games 100m title — the first time a Jamaican was winning a global 100m title.

The following year she won her first of five Olympic medals, courtesy of a relay silver medal at the Sydney Games, becoming the youngest ever Jamaican female to win an Olympic medal.

More history was created that year when in Santiago, Chile, she became the first woman to cop the 100m and 200m at the same World Junior Championships. In 2009 she became the first female track athlete to be named UNESCO Champion for Sport.

Carter has come a long way since he took up running at Manchester High School. He was a member of Jamaica’s 4x100m relay team that won gold at the Penn Relays in 2007.

He again mined gold as part of the 4x100m relay team at the 2011 World Championships in Daegu, South Korea. In 2008 he led Jamaica’s relay 4x100m team to gold in a world record time at the Beijing Games.

He gained his first individual World Medal, silver, in the 60m at the 2012 world Indoor Championships in Istanbul.

The Walsh Award is determined by outstanding achievement in a sport recognised by the Jamaica Institute of Sports, and the Jamaica Olympic Association; representation at the national level, notable community service and a high level of integrity, national pride, dedication, decorum, humility and discipline, both on and off the field.

Past winners of the Award include Olympic gold medallist Aleen Bailey (2004); cricketer James Adams in 2005; Olympic gold medallist Deon Hemmings-McCatty in 2006; netball player Elaine Davis in 2007, cricketer Nehemiah Perry in 2008; athlete Brigitte Foster-Hylton (2009) and most recently, Olympian Dr Neil Gardner.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you think an increase in JUTC bus fares is justified at this time?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon