Yadav hat-trick gives India big win in 2nd ODI

Friday, September 22, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

KOLKATA, India (AFP) — Kuldeep Yadav's maiden hat-trick and a fluent 92 by Virat Kohli helped India cruise to a 50-run win over Australia in the second One-Day International in Kolkata yesterday.

Yadav once again combined with fellow wrist spinner Yuzvendra Chahal to dismiss the visitors for 202 in 43.1 overs while chasing 253 and earn India a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Left-arm wrist spinner Yadav and fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar claimed three wickets each, while Chahal and paceman Hadik Pandya took two each.

But it was Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane, who scored 55, who laid the foundation for the victory with their 102-run second-wicket partnership that made India post 252 all out.

“We didn't feel like we had enough on the board at the break. But we knew if we had a good start we [would] have a good chance of defending it,” said Kohli, who received the man of the match award.

“Bhuvi's (Kumar) spell became even more important because we knew the wrist spinners would do damage in the middle. The deliveries he got the batsmen out with were unplayable.”

Kumar struck early after removing the two Australian openers, including David Warner for one, in an inspired first spell that lasted six overs.

Skipper Steve Smith, who made 59, and Travis Head then forged a 76-run partnership as the duo tried to steady the innings by counter-attacking the Indian bowlers.

Yadav, playing just his ninth ODI, then turned on the heat with his triple strike in the 33rd over that spelt doom for the visitors.

He got wicketkeeper batsman Matthew Wade (2), Ashton Agar (0) and Pat Cummins (0) to become only the third Indian after pacemen Chetan Sharma and Kapil Dev to record an ODI hat-trick.

Marcus Stoinis remained unbeaten on 62, but his valiant knock came too late in the day as Kumar, who returned figures of 3-9 in his 6.1 overs, wiped up the tail.

“We were pretty happy with 250, thought we pulled things back pretty well. Did a really good job there. Batters though made poor decisions, and you can't do that against a quality team like India,” said Smith.

Earlier, fast bowlers Nathan Coulter-Nile and Kane Richardson claimed three wickets each to pull things back for the visitors after India started off strongly.

There was also a bit of drama in the 48th over of the Indian innings when Pandya was caught off a no-ball, but Smith ran him out only to see the batsman walking off the ground following a slight drizzle.

Smith and company tried to argue with the on-field umpires for their run out call but in vain.

The third match is scheduled for Sunday in Indore.


A Rahane run out
(Cartwright/Wade) 55
R Sharma c and
b Coulter-Nile 7
V Kohli b Coulter-Nile 92
M Pandey b Agar 3
K Jadhav c Maxwell
b Coulter-Nile 24
MS Dhoni c Smith b
Richardson 5
H Pandya c Warner b
Richardson 20
B Kumar c Maxwell b
Richardson 20
K Yadav c Wade b Cummins 0
J Bumrah not out 10
Y Chahal run out (Wade) 1
Extras (b1, nb1, w13) 15
Total (all out, 50 overs) 252
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Sharma),
2-121 (Rahane), 3-131
(Pandey), 4-186 (Jadhav),
5-175 (Kohli), 6-204 (Dhoni),
7-239 (Kumar), 8-239 (Yadav),
9-246 (Pandya), 10-252
Bowling: Cummins 10-1-34-1
(w1), Coulter-Nile 10-0-51-3
(w5), Richardson 10-0-55-3
(w1, nb1), Stoinis 9-0-46-0
(w2), Agar 9-0-54-1 (w3),
Head 2-0-11-0 (w1)
Australia (target 253)
H Cartwright b Kumar 1
D Warner c Rahane b Kumar 1
S Smith c Jadeja (sub) b
Pandya 59
T Head c Pandey b Chahal 39
G Maxwell st Dhoni
b Chahal 14
M Stoinis not out 62
M Wade b Yadav 2
A Agar lbw b Yadav 0
P Cummins c Dhoni b Yadav 0
N Coulter-Nile c and
b Pandya 8
K Richardson lbw b Kumar 0
Extras (b4, lb6, w6) 16
Total (all out; 43.1 overs 202
Fall of wickets: 1-2
(Cartwright), 2-9 (Warner),
3-85 (Head), 4-106 (Maxwell),
5-138 (Smith), 6-148
(Wade), 7-148 (Agar), 8-148
(Cummins), 9-182 (Stoinis),
10-202 (Richardson)
Bowling: Kumar 6.1-2-9-3,
Bumrah 7-1-39-0, Pandya 10-
0-56-2 (w1), Chahal 10-1-34-2
(w3), Yadav 10-1-54-3 (w2)
Toss: India
Result: India won by 50 runs
Series: India lead the
five-match series 2-0
Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND)
and Richard Illingworth (ENG)
TV Umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)
Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon