Omar walks in front

Walker surges in to the lead amongst the jockeys

Observer writer

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

ALTHOUGH only three and a half months have gone by in this year's racing season, the intentions of jockey Omar Walker have been clearly demonstrated on track as the former six-time champion rode three winners on Saturday's (March 16, 2019) 12-race programme to go three clear of rivals in the jockeys' championship.

Walker, champion of the pigskin in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2016 and 2017, started the day on 15 winners — tied with champion apprentice Christopher Mamdeen.

He then opened his triple run aboard Papa Albert in the second race over four furlongs (800m) straight. Trained by Welsh Soutar, Papa Albert came from behind to beat Prince Sammo (Anthony Thomas), Strikinglygorgeous (Anthony Allen) and Super Glitterman (Samantha Fletcher) by 4 lengths in 47.3.

His second came in the Thornbird Stakes co-feature in the ninth race over seven furlongs (1,400m) atop the Wayne DaCosta-conditioned Lady Blue. The chestnut filly made one move to win by two lengths over Princess Ava (Reyan Lewis), Princess Lauren (Dane Dawkins) and Corazon (Robert Halledeen). The winning time was 1:26.0.

Walker's three-timer came in the next race when he drove Ras Emanuel to a head win in the Overnight Allowance event over five furlongs (1,000m) on the round course. Ras Emanuel, trained by Peter McMaster, got the better of My Sister (Dane Dawkins) in a driving finish. The final time was 1:00.1.

With those winners, Walker took his tally to 18 winners — three more than Mamdeen, who remained on 15 after going winless on Saturday.

Three-time champion Dane Nelson rode Flying Bullet to victory in the sixth race for his 14th winner of the season which placed him third in the standing.

Apprentice Reyan Lewis, who guided Inspired Miracle to victory in the 12th and final event, is in fourth place on 13 winners with five-time champion Trevor Simpson in fifth place on 11 winners after winning with Flying Machine in the fifth race.

Rounding off the top 10 are Robert Halldeen (10 winners), current champion Anthony Thomas (nine winners), apprentice Tevin Foster (eight winners), Shane Ellis (eight winners) and Dane Dawkins (seven winners).

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon