Click here to print page

Chandimal stars as Sri Lanka put pressure on Pakistan

Saturday, September 30, 2017

ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates (AFP) — Captain Dinesh Chandimal made an unbeaten 155 as Sri Lanka put the pressure on Pakistan on the second day of the first Test in Abu Dhabi yesterday.

Openers Sami Aslam (31 not out) and Shan Masood (30 not out) negotiated 23 overs to take Pakistan to 64-0, still trailing Sri Lanka's first-innings total of 419 by 355 runs.

They need another 156 to avoid the follow-on, a task which should be simple on a flat, Sheikh Zayed Stadium pitch.

Both Masood and Aslam, opening for the first time together, looked assured as Sri Lanka attacked through all their three spinners and two seamers in short spells.

But it was a memorable day for Sri Lankan skipper Chandimal, whose marathon knock of over nine hours in hot conditions propelled his team to a strong total.

He came in to bat with his team in trouble at 61-3 on Thursday, but led the fightback in a fourth-wicket stand of 100 with Dimuth Karunaratne (93).

Yesterday, after Sri Lanka resumed at 227-4, Chandimal added 134 for the fifth wicket with Niroshan Dickwella (83) and another 92 for the sixth with Dilruwan Perera, who made 33.

Chandimal faced 372 balls and struck 14 boundaries to leave Pakistan toiling for wickets before the tail succumbed to some good pace bowling by Mohammad Abbas, who took 3-75.

Chandimal reached his ninth Test century — his first in four matches as captain and first against Pakistan — by driving left-arm paceman Mohammad Amir through the covers for his 11th boundary.

Pakistan's misery was compounded as they did get Perera twice on nought, but the all-rounder made successful reviews on both decisions — once each off Shah and Haris Sohail.

Perera also survived a stumping decision before finally falling to part-timer Sohail for his first wicket.

Sri Lanka 1st innings (overnight 227-4)
D Karunaratne run out 93
K Silva b Hasan 12
L Thirimanne lbw b Shah 0
K Mendis c Ahmed b Shah 10
D Chandimal not out 155
N Dickwella b Hasan 83
D Perera lbw b Haris 33
R Herath c Azam b Herath 4
S Lakmal lbw b Abbas 7
L Sandakan b Abbas 8
N Pradeep b Abbas 0
Extras: (lb11, nb3) 14
Total: (all out, 154.5 overs) 419
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Silva), 2-35
(Thirimanne), 3-61 (Mendis), 4-161
(Karunaratne), 5-295 (Dickwella), 6-387
(Perera), 7-396 (Herath), 8-408 (Lakmal),
9-419 (Sandakan)
Bowling: Amir 27-5-63-0, Abbas 26.5-
0-75-3 (2nb), Shah 57-11-120-3, Hasan
27-6-88-2 (1nb), Masood 1-1-0-0, Sohail
13-0-51-1, Shafiq 3-0-11-0
Pakistan Ist innings
Shan Masood not out 30
Sami Aslam not out 31
Extras: (lb2, nb1) 3
Total: (for no loss; 23 overs) 64
To bat: Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar
Azam, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed,
Mohammad Amir, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali,
Mohammad Abbas
Bowling: Lakmal 4-0-12-0 (1nb), Pradeep
5-0-13-0, Perera 6-1-24-0, Sundakan 5-1-
5-0, Herath 3-0-8-0
Toss: Sri Lanka
Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)and
Nigel Llong (ENG)
TV umpire: Ahsan Raza (PAK)
ICC match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)