Chang, Williams, Pinnock headline Ja's Carifta team

Friday, April 12, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

IAAF World Championships individual medallists Kai Chang, Briana Williams and Wayne Pinnock were yesterday named to lead a strong 80-member team to the 48th Carifta Championships to be held at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex in the Cayman Islands, April 20-22.

The team was chosen from the results of the three-day Carifta Trials held at the national stadium last weekend, and despite the absence of a number of the top young athletes, the Jamaicans are expected to once again dominate the regional three-day event.

Last year, the Jamaican team won a record 44 gold medals on their way to bagging 82 medals overall with 27 silver and 11 bronze, as they topped the medal tables for the 34th straight year since 1985 and 42nd time overall.

Throws and jumps specialist Marlon Gayle has been named head coach and he will be assisted by Roderick Gayle, Maurice Wignal, Megan Wilson, Omar Hawes and Dave Anderson.

Williams, the IAAF World Under-20 female sprint double champion in Tampere, Finland last year, won the Under-20 sprint double at the Carifta Trials last weekend.

The Florida-based 17-year-old won three gold medals last year in the Under-17 section at the Carifta Games held in The Bahamas and was named the Austin Sealey Award winner, the prize that goes to the most outstanding performer.

Chang, the IAAF World Under-20 discus throw champion, will be seeking to upgrade from his silver medal in The Bahamas last year to gold this year, while Pinnock, the bronze medallist in the long jump in Tampere last year, will seek to defend his boys Under-20 title at the Carifta Games.

The team also includes World Youth Record holder in the 100m hurdles Ackera Nugent, who will compete in the Under-20 age group, as well as the St Jago hurdling duo of Rasheed Broadbell and Vashaun Vacianna.

Team — Under-17 male: J'Voughnn Blake, Jayden Brown, Blaine Byam, Jaheim Cox, Tariq Dacres, Tahj Hamm, Tafar-Hi Hinds, Adrian Kerr, Deshaun Lamb, Kobe Lawrence, Richard Nelson, Adrian Nethersole, Bouwahjgie Nkrumie, Brandon Pottinger, Rajaun Ricketts, Christopher Scott, Sharvis Simmonds, Neil-Matthew Sutherland, Christopher Young

Under-17 Female: Carleta Bernard, Paula-Ann Chambers, Kay-Lagay Clarke, Malaika Cunningham, Quaycian Davis, Glacian Loutin, Onanda Lowe, Brianna Lyston, Annisha McDonald, Jodiann Mitchell, Dejanea Oakley, Samantha Pryce, Sashell Reid, Kishay Rowe, Rickiann Russell, Chrystal Shaw, Cedricka Williams and Damali Williams

Under-20 male: Romaine Beckford, Rasheed Broadbell, Shamar Brown, Fabian Campbell, Kai Chang, Antony Cox, David Edmondson, Apalos Edwards., Kimar Farquharson, Cobe Graham, Horatio Humphrey, Ralford Mullings, Xavier Nairne, Wayne Pinnock, Tyrese Reid, Ryiem Robertson, Oblique Seville, Tyrice Taylor, Jordan Turner, Vashaun Vacianna, Kevroy Venson, Antonio Watson, Evaldo Whitehorne

Under-20 Female: Annakay Allen, Kelly-Ann Beckford, Lotavia Brown, Janique Burgher, Cherice Cope, Marie Forbes, Joanne Reid, Shaquena Foote, Anneisha Lawrence, Crystal Morrison, Kemba Nelson, Ackera Nugent, Nickisha Pryce, Kimone Reid, Nia Robinson, Abigail Schaafe, Danielle Sloley, Johnelle Thomas, Briana Williams, Thalia Wilson

Officials: Chef de Mission — Audrey Williams, Manager — Andrea Hardware, Assistant Manager- Glenroy Morgan, Head coach — Marlon Gayle, Coaches — Roderick Gayle, Maurice Wignal, Megan Wilson, Omar Hawes and Dave Anderson, Team Doctor — Dr Ruchelle Brown -Calvert, coach/Massage therapist- Gavin James, Massage Therapist — Jowayne Johnson.

— Paul Reid

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon