DaCosta Cup return round kicks off today

By Paul A Reid
Observer writer

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Print this page Email A Friend!

GREEN ISLAND, Hanover — Three former champions will be seeking to extend their perfect win records to six straight when the second round of the ISSA/Wata daCosta Cup football competition gets under way today with 37 games.

Defending champions Rusea's High, Cornwall College and Garvey Maceo have been perfect through the first five games of the first round and will be going after their sixth win.

The fourth team with a perfect win record, Clarendon College, will be out of action today.

Additionally, another 13 schools, led by former champions St Elizabeth Technical High School and Dinthill Technical, will put their unbeaten records on the line.

Rusea's High opened their season with a 4-0 win over Green Island but since then Green Island have responded by winning their next three by a 9-0 aggregate scoreline.

Rusea's High have not won at Green Island in their last two trips and the home team will be hoping to extend that record today as they try to close the gap on the leaders.

The champions are on 15 points atop Zone B and boast a six-point lead over Green Island and Frome Technical, who have both played four games, one less than Rusea's High.

Cornwall College will face a Green Pond team who are coming off a 2-3 loss at Anchovy High on Saturday, after beating St James High a few days prior.

Cornwall College have won their last five games against Green Pond, including 2-0 in the first round, and will be favoured playing at home as they appear to be improving with each game.

Today's games

Zone A

St James vs Irwin

Maldon vs Anchovy

Cornwall vs Green Pond

Zone B

Cambridge vs Frome

Green Island vs Rusea's

Zone C

Spot Valley vs Herbert Morrison

William Knibb vs Holland

Zone E

STETHS vs Newell

Maggotty vs Sydney Pagon

Munro vs Lacovia

Zone F

Manchester vs B B Coke

deCarteret vs Belair

May Day vs Mile Gully

Zone G

Alston vs Christiana

Holmwood vs Troy

Knox vs Spalding

Zone H

Edwin Allen High vs Lennon High

Kellits High vs Thompson Town High

Zone I

Iona vs York Castle

Marcus Garvey vs Ocho Rios

Browns Town vs Oracabessa

Zone J

Tacky vs Guys Hill

St Mary High vs St Mary Tech

Brimmervale vs Carron Hall

Zone K

Tacius Golding vs Ewarton

Bog Walk vs Charlemont

McGrath vs Dinthill

Zone L

Port Antonio vs Horace Clarke

Happy Grove vs Titchfield

Annotto Bay vs Fair Prospect

Zone M

Glenmuir vs Bellefield

Denbigh vs Garvey Maceo

Cross Keys vs Winston Jones

Zone N

Central vs Kemps Hill

Vere vs Old Harbour

Zone O

Robert Lightbourne vs Morant Bay

Paul Bogle vs Yallahs

St Thomas vs Seaforth

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon