De Kock, Amla trump Mushfiqur century

Monday, October 16, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

KIMBERLEY, South Africa (AFP) — Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla shared a record partnership as South Africa cruised to a ruthless ten-wicket win in the first One-Day International against Bangladesh at Diamond Oval yesterday.

De Kock (168 not out) and Amla (110 not out) put on an unbeaten 282 to overhaul Bangladesh's 278 for seven with 7.1 overs to spare.

The South African openers overshadowed the feat of Mushfiqur Rahim, whose 110 not out was the first century by a Bangladesh batsman against South Africa in any international match. Bangladesh's total was their highest in one-day games against South Africa.

Mushfiqur's innings came with a price. He appeared to suffer a hamstring injury and he watched the de Kock-Amla partnership from the players' balcony, adding to injuries which kept two other key players, Tamim Iqbal (thigh) and Mustafizur Rahman (ankle), out of the match.



Imrul Kayes c De Kock b Pretorius 31

Liton Das c Du Plessis b Rabada 21

Shakib Al Hasan c Amla b Imran Tahir 29

Mushfiqur Rahim not out 110

Mahmudullah c Miller b Pretorius 26

Sabbir Rahman c Paterson b Rabada 19

Nasir Hossain c Amla b Rabada 11

Mohammad Saifuddin c Paterson b Rabada 16

Extras (lb5, w10) 15

Total (7 wkts, 50 overs) 278

Fall of wickets: 1-43 (Das), 2-67 (Kayes), 3-126 (Shakib), 4-195 (Mahmudullah), 5-237 (Sabbir), 6-253 (Nasir), 7-278 (Saifuddin)

Bowling: Rabada 10-1-43-4 (5w), Paterson 9-0-69-0, Imran Tahir 10-0-45-1, Pretorius 10-0-48-2 (1w), Phehlukwayo 10-0-60-0 (4w), Duminy 1-0-8-0

Did not bat: Mashrafe Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed

South Africa

Q de Kock not out 168

H Amla not out 110

Extras (w4) 4

Total (0 wkts, 42.5 overs) 282

Bowling: Rubel Hossain 6-0-37-0, Mashrafe Mortaza 8.5-0-50-0, Taskin Ahmed 8-0-61-0 (1w), Shakib Al Hasan 8-0-48-0 (2w), Mohammad Saifuddin 5-0-46-0, Nasir Hossain 5-0-29-0 (1w), Mahmudullah 2-0-11-0

Did not bat: F. du Plessis, A. de Villiers, D. Miller, J. Duminy, D. Pretorius, A. Phehlukwayo, K. Rabada, D. Paterson, Imran Tahir

Result: South Africa won by ten wickets

Series: South Africa lead the three-match series 1-0

Toss: Bangladesh

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Bongani Jele (RSA)

TV umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon