Home is where the heart is

Batsman Walton delighted to return to local franchise Tallawahs after Warriors stint

Senior staff reporter

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

Top-order batsman Chadwick Walton says he is happy to return “home” after he was yesterday drafted in the third round by Jamaica Tallawahs for the 2019 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Twenty20 tournament.

“I'm elated to come home, I couldn't be happier. It's always a different joy to be able to play for your home franchise and it's a franchise I've won with before,” the Jamaican said during a telephone interview yesterday.

“I'm satisfied with the teammates that have been drafted. We should be able to go very far in the tournament with the quality that we have,” Walton told the Jamaica Observer.

The 33-year-old Walton, who has played Test cricket for the West Indies as a wicketkeeper/batsman, won CPL titles with the Tallawahs in 2013 and 2016 during four years with the franchise.

He was drafted by Guyana Amazon Warriors for the 2017 and 2018 editions, winning the player of the tournament award in his first season there. His best finish with the Amazon Warriors came last year when they lost to Trinbago Knight Riders in the final.

“Definitely, I enjoyed my seasons with the Amazon Warriors. We did have some success, but it was a pity we didn't go on to win it [the CPL title]. My career path has taken me back home and hopefully we can win again.

“I've been training; the training never stops, I've been in the gym and getting stronger. I've been getting in some knocks and I'm playing in Jamaica's T20 club competition,” added Walton.

At the draft in London, England, the Tallawahs also secured Jamaicans Andre Russell, Christopher Gayle, Rovman Powell, Oshane Thomas, Christopher Lamont, Ramaal Lewis, Derval Green, Javelle Glenn, and United States-based Xavier Marshall.

Regional-based picks include Barbadian Shamar Springer, Guyanese Steven Jacobs, and Trinidadian Imran Khan. The international players drafted are New Zealand's Glenn Phillips and George Worker; Afghanistan's Zahir Khan; and Pakistan's Amad Butt.

Russell was the Tallawahs' captain last year, but that responsibility is expected to fall on the shoulders of Gayle, who returns to the Jamaica-based franchise after a spell with St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

The 2019 CPL is scheduled to run from September 4 to October 12.

Aside from the Tallawahs' two titles, the Trinidad and Tobago-based franchise, the reigning champion, has won three, while Barbados Tridents claimed the trophy in 2014.

Tallawahs squad — Andre Russell, Christopher Gayle, Oshane Thomas, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Christopher Lamont, Zahir Khan, Glenn Phillips, George Worker, Amad Butt, Shamar Springer, Steven Jacobs, Ramaal Lewis, Derval Green, Javelle Glenn, Imran Khan, Xavier Marshall.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon