Injuries force shake-up in Boyz squad for Bonaire assignment

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Print this page Email A Friend!

There have been changes to Jamaica's Reggae Boyz squad for the Concacaf Nations League qualifying game against Bonaire, compared to the one that faced the Cayman Islands in Kingston last month.

The Boyz are set to take on the Concacaf minnow at the Stadion Ergilio Hato in Curacao capital of Willemstad on Sunday. A pocket of local-based players, coaches and other team officials will depart Jamaica tomorrow at 7:25 am for Curacao via Miami.

Those missing from the 20-man squad released by the Jamaica Football Federation yesterday are out due mainly to injury.

Not scheduled to make the trip to the southern Caribbean are Romario Williams (Atlanta United), Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers), Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls), Kevon Lambert (Phoenix Rising FC), Adrian Mariappa (Watford FC), Tevin Shaw (Tivoli Gardens), and Ladale Richie (Mount Pleasant FA).

Coming in to fill some of those slots are Jamiel Hardware (Arnett Gardens FC), Dane Kelly (DC United), Devon Williams (Louisville City FC), and Shaun Francis (Louisville City FC).

“A couple of players got injured. I know that Alvas Powell will not be in the team due to a concussion... Ladale Richie and Tevin Shaw locally are carrying (injuries) — so we have those players, plus others.

“But what you will see for sure is the best Jamaican team available now to go on the pitch, and we believe the players selected are competent to get the result Jamaica needs, because we play for football for the people of Jamaica,” said team manager Roy Simpson.

In their opening Nations League game, the Boyz were 4-0 winners over Cayman Islands inside National Stadium, a margin of victory that has been frowned upon. After the first match, Jamaica are seventh in the qualifying standings.

After Bonaire, Jamaica will play their next game in the Concacaf Nations League against Suriname at Montego Bay Sports Complex on November 17.

Squad — Andre Blake, Amal Knight, Jeadine White, Michael Hector, Darren Mattocks, Cory Burke, Je-Vaughn Watson, Peter-Lee Vassell, Owayne Gordon, Damion Lowe, Ricardo Thomas, Alex Marshall, Ricardo Morris, Javon East, Fabian Reid, Jamiel Hardware, Dane Kelly, Devon Williams, Fabion McCarthy, Shaun Francis

— Sean Williams

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon