Jamaica off to CGA Four-Ball Championship


Jamaica off to CGA Four-Ball Championship

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

Jamaica's 18-member team to the Caribbean Golf Association Four-Ball Championship at PGA National Resort & Spa at Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, are currently going through their practice round in preparation for competition which starts today.

The championship is scheduled to end on Saturday.

The 54-hole championship will for the first time showcase a full Jamaican team of 10 competitors while there will be eight other golfers who will compete in individual spots (they will not contribute to any team points).

The trials to select the 10-member team was completed in August at Caymanas Golf Club.

Sean Morris and Jodi Munn-Barrow won the overall men's senior and ladies' categories at the trials.

According to Peter Chin, president of the Jamaica Golf Association, it was a direct strategy to select the team early in order to properly prepare for the championship and give Jamaica a chance at taking the country title for the first time. He said, “We are definitely fielding a full team and we are hoping to do better than last year. Last year we didn't have a full team, we didn't have any ladies at all so hopefully with the ladies coming back this year we will do well in the overall championship.”

The Jamaican team to compete for the various trophies include: Maria Nunes Trophy (ladies 35+) — Jodi Munn-Barrow and Alison Reid; Dessie Henry Trophy (ladies 50+) — Michele Gabay and Marguerite “Maggie” Lyn; Ramon Baez Romano Trophy (men 35+) — John O'Donoghue and Philip Prendergast; Francis & Steele-Perkins Cup (men 50+) — Sean Morris and Mark Newnham; and the Higgs & Higgs Trophy (men 60+) — Michael Boyd and Bert Tomlinson.

The eight individual players are Greg Chong, William “Tommy” Lee, Rory Jardine, Owen Samuda, Robert Chin, Dorrel Allen, Peter Chin and George Hugh.

Jamaica will compete for six trophies — two for the females, three for the men and a country trophy dubbed the Ambrose Guthrie Cup. Jamaica have the largest contingent of 18 players followed by The Bahamas with 12, while the other counties are Barbados, Cayman Islands, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, and the US Virgin Islands.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaperlive




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon