KC, Hydel run away with Digicel Grand Prix bounty

Senior staff reporter

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

New champions were crowned yesterday as Kingston College (KC) and Hydel High captured the Digicel Grand Prix final and walked away with a whopping $1 million each at GC Foster College.

KC tallied 144.33 points and easily dethroned Calabar High by 36 points with Jamaica College (JC) grabbing third with 95 points. Petersfield High finished fourth on 30 points with Excelsior High in fifth on 26.

Hydel High ended Edwin Allen's reign winning the girls' section with 126 points, 32 more than the dethroned champions. Holmwood Technical were third with 79 points ahead of St Jago High in fourth on 47 points. St Mary's High completed the top five with 38 points.

There were significant displays by both KC and Hydel High as they have shown that they will be genuine title contenders with just two weeks before the big Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) Boys' and Girls' Athletics Championships.

Calabar took an early lead after two finals winning the Under-20 high jump and the Under-17 long jump. Richard Clarke leapt 2.13m and won the high jump ahead of Romaine Beckford of Buff Bay High with 2.10m and KC's Louis Gordon with 2.05m.

Then Jordon Turner captured the long jump with 7.12m (-1.2 mps) ahead of Jaheim Cox of KC with 7.11m, who achieved that mark on his first jump and passed on the rest. Turner surpassed him with his fifth attempt, while Rajuan Ricketts of JC was third with 6.40m.

Holmwood Technical's Susan Francis won the Under-20 long jump with 6.15m (-2.8) ahead of Hydel High's Rhianna Phipps with 5.80m. Edwin Allen's Annia Ashley was third with 5.69m. Alliah Baker of Hydel took the Under-17 long jump with 5.11m (-3.6) with Shakara Mitto of Wolmer's second with 5.03m.

Cedricka Williams of Holmwood won the Under-17 discus with 41.41m ahead of Clarendon College's Shanara Richards with 40.06m.

Calabar star Christopher Taylor romped to victory in the Under-20 400m in 45.99, easing down after running the first 300m hard. Bovel McPherson of Holmwood Technical was second in 47.13.

In arguably the performance of the championship, Tyrice Taylor of Enid Bennett High School smashed the Under-20 800m record in 1:48.85, the fastest high school time in 32 years. Taylor was just outside Vere Technical's Sherwin Burgess' Champs record of 1:48.84 done in 1987.

Tyrese Reid of Spot Valley High was second in 1:49.30 with JC's Dugion Blackman third in 1:52.25. Race favourite Kimar Farquharson failed to finish the race, while his teammate Rivaldo Marshall jogged home in seventh in 2:12.08.

KC won both 400m hurdles courtesy of Jayden Brown and Romell Plummer. Brown captured the Under-17 in 53.61, while Plummer stopped the clock at 51.62 and pulled his teammate Shantamoi Brown into second with 52.30. Calabar's Anthony Danvers fell at the top of the straight and finished in 1:11.19 minutes.

He did not break the expected eight-metre barrier, but KC's Wayne Pinnock continued his winning streak with a leap of 7.76m (-0.9) and won the Under-20 long jump ahead of his teammate Shacquille Lowe with 7.50m. Calabar's Nickaoli Williams was third with 6.96m.

Tia Clayton of Edwin Allen continued her impressive form and sped to 11.32 in the Under-17 100m, which would have been her personal best but with the helping of an illegal 2.1 mps wind. Her twin sister Tina copped the 200m in 23.25 (0.9 mps) and once again had St Jago's Brianna Lyston behind in second spot with 23.83.

Kevona Davis of Edwin Allen clocked 22.82 (0.5 mps) to win the Under-20 200m, while JC's Ryeim Robertson captured the boys' equivalent with 20.78 ahead of Calabar's Oblique Seville with 20.86.

Dashinelle Dyer of St Elizabeth Technical High School upset the apple cart and won the Under-20 100m in 10.40. Calabar's Michael Stephens was second in 10.45 with Kishane Thompson of Garvey Maceo High third with 10.47. Michali Everett of Jamaica College was fourth in 10.50.

KC's Terrique Stennett went faster than his older counterparts by clocking an impressive 10.37 to win the Under-17 100m. His time equalled his personal best.

KC won the sprint medley in a record 3:25.04 and had JC in second in 3:25.32. Calabar High finished third with 3:27.25. Edwin Allen won the girls' version in 3:53.96 ahead of Hydel High in second with 3:59.51.

Hydel and Calabar ended the Digicel Grand Prix with resounding wins in the 4x400m relays. Calabar won in 3:09.71 ahead of JC in second with 3:11.71. Holmwood Technical were third in 3:11.38. Hydel won in 3:37.98 ahead of Spalding High with 3:39.94.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon